south carolina driver information
Hi there, South Carolina drivers. We've gathered notable stats and info to help upgrade your knowledge of driving in the Palmetto State.
South Carolina driver information
Number of licensed drivers: 3,268,000
Registered vehicles: 3,614,000
Licensing and registration authority: South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
Average commute to work: 23.2 minutes (the national average is 25.2 minutes)
South Carolina driving records
Convictions for traffic violations can add between 2 and 6 points to a driver's official driving record. If a driver gets 12 points, the state will suspend the driver's license.
Reporting an accident in the state
Any time you're in an accident where there are injuries or property damage, you're required to report it and submit proof of insurance coverage. The police will give you an FR-10 form, which will need to be filled out by your insurer to verify coverage.
Find more info here on South Carolina's DMV site.
South Carolina driving stats
South Carolina recorded 17 traffic-related deaths per every 100,000 motorists on the road in 2010. This was roughly 7 more than the national average.
South Carolina is home to 153.9 residents per square mile, nearly (but not quite) double the national average of 87.4. And where there are more drivers packing a given area, there are often more chances for accidents.
Drinking and driving in South Carolina
In 2009, 42 percent of all traffic fatalities in the state involved a driver who was above the legal BAC. This was the 3rd-highest ratio in the nation.
Moving to South Carolina
New residents have 45 days to get their vehicles titled and registered with the state.
If you're a new resident with a valid license from another state, you may use it for up to 90 days. But you'll need to get a South Carolina license before the 90-day period expires to keep your driving privileges.
Stolen cars in South Carolina
According to the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), the most stolen vehicles in the state in 2011 were:
- 1997 Honda Accord
- 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1999 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 2000 Ford Crown Victoria
- 2000 Dodge Caravan
- 1995 Toyota Camry
- 2001 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 1999 Ford Pickup (small size)
- 1995 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
Comprehensive coverage, which is optional unless required by your loan or finance company, can help protect your finances in the event your car's stolen.
Young drivers in South Carolina
- Minimum beginner's permit age: 15 years old
- Tests required before receiving beginner's permit: vision screening and knowledge exam
- Minimum permit holding period: 180 days
- Conditional drivers license age: older than 15 but younger than 16 years old
- Special restricted drivers license age: older than 16 but younger than 17 years old; must have a conditional license unless you've had a beginner's permit for 180 days
- Full driving privileges eligibility: teens 16 years old or older who hold their conditional or special restricted license for one year without at-fault accidents or traffic violations can receive full driving privileges
Getting a license if you're older than 17
Those older than 17 may forego the conditional or special restricted license period. They can earn an unrestricted South Carolina license by proving parental consent, holding a beginner's permit for 6 months, and passing the vision and driving tests.
Auto insurance in South Carolina
Find out about state-required coverages and learn a bit about your options with Esurance.
South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
Visit the official site for South Carolina's DMV to get the latest driver and insurance updates, as well as handle your registration, title, and licensing needs.