nebraska driver information
Nebraska's got a lot going for it: wide open spaces, Cornhusker football, and responsible, well-informed drivers (right?). Read on to beef up your understanding of driving in the state of Nebraska.
Nebraska driving info
Number of licensed drivers: 1,349,000
Registered vehicles: 1,793,000
Licensing and registration authority: Nebraska DMV
Nebraska driving records
If you're convicted of a moving violation, penalty points may be added to your Nebraska driving record. These points range from 1 (for minor offenses like speeding 1–5 mph over a city limit) to 12 (for vehicular homicide). If you're convicted of a traffic violation in another state, points may be added to your driving record as if the incident occurred in Nebraska.
If you rack up 12 points in a 2-year period, your drivers license will be suspended for 6 months. If your license is revoked again under the point system within 5 years, your license will be suspended for 3 years.
Points stay on your record for 2 years after the date of conviction. The violation itself stays on your record for 5 years.
DUI penalties in Nebraska
Any driver convicted of driving under the influence for the first time faces a 7–60 day jail sentence, a 6-month license suspension, and a $500 fine. Subsequent convictions bring tougher penalties.
Drivers 21 years and older with a BAC of .08 percent or higher are considered to be driving under the influence. If a driver's BAC is .15 or higher or if someone was injured in a DUI-related accident, penalties are tougher.
For drivers under 21, the legal limit is .02 percent.
It's against the law to text while driving in the state for all drivers. Novice drivers are also banned from all cell phone use while behind the wheel.
Reporting accidents in Nebraska
If an accident causes an injury or $1,000 in damage, you're legally required to report it to Nebraska's Department of Roads within 10 days.
You can download an accident report form here (PDF).
Drivers in the military
If you're an active member of the military and you're stationed outside of Nebraska, you can apply for military exemptions before your license expires.
Exemptions include a 60-day window to renew your license after you return home. You may also be able to renew your license through the mail.
These exemptions apply to spouses, as well. You can call the DMV at (402) 471-3861 for more info.
Moving to Nebraska
Once you become a Nebraska resident, you have 30 days to apply for a Nebraska drivers license and to title and register your car with the state.
If you don't acquire a Nebraska license within this time, your driving privileges in the state may be suspended.
Stolen cars in Nebraska
According to the National Insurance Crime Bureau, Omaha reported the most stolen cars in the state with 3,125 in 2011. It had the 42nd-highest theft rate in the nation.
Comprehensive coverage can pay to replace your car if it's stolen (minus the deductible you choose).
Most commonly stolen vehicles in Nebraska
- 1994 Chevrolet Pickup
- 1994 Honda Accord
- 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2001 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Honda Civic
- 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee
- 1999 Jeep Cherokee
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 1998 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
- 1990 GMC Pickup (full size)
Young driver requirements
Nebraska issues 2 types of learners permits, a school permit, and a provisional operator's permit to first-time drivers who are under 18.
Learners permit: type LPE
- Allows a driver to practice driving for a school permit
- Minimum age: 14 years old
- Must pass a vision and a written test
- Allows young drivers to drive to school without supervision
- Minimum age: 14 years and 2 months old
- To qualify, drivers must either complete a state-certified drivers ed course or complete 50 hours of practice driving (10 at night)
Learners permit: type LPD
- Allows drivers to practice for a provisional operator's license or an operator's license
- Minimum age: 15 years old
Provisional operator's permit
- Driver must have held a permit (any type) for at least 6 months before applying
- Minimum age: 16 years old
- No driving restrictions between 6 a.m.–midnight
Getting a first drivers license
If you're 17 or older and have held your provisional operator's permit for 12 months, you can apply for a full, unrestricted Class O License. You'll need to have less than 3 penalty points on your driving record.
If you're 18 or older, you can apply for a Class O License without first carrying a permit of any kind. You'll need to pass a vision test, a written test, and a driving test.
See the Nebraska Driver's Manual for more info (PDF).
Nebraska insurance information
Read our easy-to-understand guide to insuring your car in Nebraska.
Nebraska DMV's official site
Find out what you can take care of online and what you'll need to handle in person.