Liability insurance is required for all motorists in Wyoming. This helps pay others' medical expenses or car repairs after an at-fault accident.
The state requires you to carry liability coverage with at least the following limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $20,000 in property damage liability coverage per incident
These limits often appear as 25/50/20. You can select higher limits, if you prefer, when you customize your policy.
Uninsured motorist coverage isn't required, but it will be automatically added to your policy unless you reject it in writing.
Licensing and registration authority: Wyoming Dept. of Transportation – Driver Services
You can typically add the following optional coverages to your Wyoming auto policy to give you added financial protection if you ever need to make a claim:
- Uninsured motorist coverage (included automatically unless you decline it in writing)
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Medical expense coverage
- Rental car reimbursement coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
Uninsured drivers in Wyoming
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC) estimated that 10 percent of Wyoming drivers were uninsured in 2009. On the bright side, this was below the national average of 13.8 percent, but it still means every tenth driver was uninsured.
Uninsured motorist coverage is designed to offer financial protection from uninsured drivers, who may not be able to pay for your medical expenses or repairs after an accident you didn't cause. It's not required in Wyoming, but it will be added to your policy automatically unless you decline it in writing.
If you finance or lease your car, comprehensive and collision coverages may be required by your loan or leasing agent.