West Virginia's laws on electronic proof of insurance
If you forgot to put your updated insurance cards in the glove box, worry not, Mountain State residents. State law allows you to present digital ID cards as legitimate proof of coverage if you get pulled over. And with our super convenient mobile app, Esurance customers can access electronic proof of insurance (and so much more) round-the-clock.
The state also reserves the right to request proof of insurance through the mail at any time, so it helps to keep a paper copy of your cards just in case.
Auto accidents and uninsured drivers in West Virginia
West Virginia is a tort state. This means that in the event of a car accident, the at-fault driver and that driver's insurance company are financially liable for the not-at-fault driver's expenses.
Accidents with uninsured motorists
If you're struck by a driver who lacks insurance, you're allowed to seek compensation in court.
Once the court makes a ruling, you can submit that report to the DMV. The uninsured motorist may then be suspended from driving until the settlement is paid.
Uninsured drivers in West Virginia
A report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 8.4 percent of West Virginians were uninsured in 2012. That was almost 4 percent lower than the national average of 12.6 percent, but that's still a lot of drivers without coverage on the road.
Uninsured motorist coverage can help pay for medical expenses and repair costs if you're involved in an incident with an at-fault driver who doesn't have liability insurance.