Driving without car insurance
Drivers convicted of driving without coverage can face fines of at least $450.
Fortunately, Evergreen State drivers can pull up their car insurance ID cards on their smartphones in the event they get pulled over or otherwise need to prove auto coverage, since state law permits electronic proof of insurance.
Drivers in your state who choose Esurance can download our convenient mobile app and access digital proof of insurance and other policy documents round-the-clock.
Uninsured drivers in Washington
A report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that about 16 percent of Washington drivers were uninsured in 2012. This was higher than the national average of 12.6 percent.
Underinsured motorist coverage, which is optional, offers financial protection from drivers without sufficient liability coverage to pay for your accident-related expenses. You can add underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, as well as underinsured motorist property damage coverage, to your policy.
Alternative car insurance options
If you have trouble finding coverage in the regular market, look into the Washington Automobile Insurance Plan.