Uninsured drivers in Virginia
A report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 10.1 percent of Virginia drivers were uninsured in 2012, which was below the national average of 12.6 percent.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which is required, offers financial protection from uninsured drivers and from drivers with insufficient liability limits.
The uninsured motorist fee
If you don't have car insurance, you can legally drive by paying the DMV an uninsured motorist fee of $500. (This satisfies your legal requirement and allows you to register a car, but it offers no financial protection in the event of an accident.)
Digital proof of insurance in Virginia
No one likes frantically searching for auto insurance ID cards in the unfortunate event they get pulled over. Luckily, Virginia state law allows electronic proof of insurance — meaning ID cards displayed on your smartphone or other device are considered sufficient evidence of car coverage.
If you're an Esurance customer in Virginia, you can take advantage of our easy-to-use mobile app, where you can access your ID cards and manage your policy 24/7.
Alternative car insurance options
If you have trouble finding car insurance in Virginia, you can contact a licensed agent about Virginia's Automobile Insurance Program (VAIP).
Stolen cars in Virginia
If you live in an area with a high theft rate, you could pay more for car insurance to make up for the added risk. The 10 most stolen cars of 2013 in Virginia were:
- 1997 Honda Accord
- 2005 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2012 Nissan Altima
- 2013 Toyota Camry
- 1998 Honda Civic
- 2000 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 1998 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- 2005 Toyota Corolla
- 2005 Dodge Caravan