get a utah car insurance quote from esurance
utah car insurance
Utah features spectacular rock formations, friendly folks, and some fairly complicated car insurance regulations. Luckily, Esurance embraces innovative technology that helps make the insurance process hassle-free for Beehive State residents.
When you get a personalized Utah auto insurance quote online, you'll get instant access to our virtual suite of smart technology, including CoverageMyWay®, only from Esurance. Using complex algorithms and a lot of secret sauce, our intuitive system helps you prioritize auto insurance coverage options to help you make smarter choices with your protection.
"Best of Service"
"The customer staff are very caring. They answer questions promptly and have helped in all my inquiries."
— Linda K.
"Beat all other pricing while not making me sacrifice my personalized coverage."
— Douglas F.
utah car insurance discounts from esurance
We're all abuzz about saving Beehive State residents some cash on their car insurance. Here are a few of our unique discounts:
- Online Shopper discount®
- Multi-Policy discount
- Good Student discount
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Defensive Driver discount
- Pac-12 discount
Our Renters Plus® discount in Utah**
If you're already protecting your ride with an Esurance car insurance policy, add renters insurance to protect your stuff, too — and nab a nice discount for good measure.
If you're already an Esurance policyholder and have questions about your auto insurance discounts in Utah, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Keep in mind that some exclusions may apply.
required coverages in utah
Utah requires its drivers to maintain the following coverages with at least these minimum limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $65,000 bodily injury liability per incident
- $15,000 for property damage liability per incident
- $3,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person
Liability can help pay for others' medical and repair bills if you're found at fault in a car accident. PIP, on the other hand, can help cover your own medical expenses (and more) after an accident, regardless of fault.
You'll typically see the minimum liability limits expressed as 25/65/15.
How fault works after an accident
Utah is a no-fault state. This means that your own policy's PIP can help pay for certain medical-related expenses after a car accident up to a certain limit. An at-fault driver can still be held liable for medical expenses, which is why bodily injury liability coverage is required.
You can customize your PIP coverage (to include lost wage protection, for example) when you buy your policy.
One quick note: no-fault insurance doesn't apply to property damage. The at-fault driver's property damage liability coverage can help pay for others' car repairs or replacements.
How claims settlements are determined
Utah uses a comparative negligence law. This means that more than one driver can be found at fault, and you can only sue for damages if you're found to be less than 50 percent at fault. If you're found to be 10 percent at fault, the at-fault driver's insurer may offer you a claims settlement that pays up to 90 percent of your post-accident expenses.
Proof of insurance rules in Utah
Both drivers must produce proof of car insurance in the event of an accident. Esurance customers in your state can now utilize our mobile app for another innovative purpose — electronic proof of insurance! Utah law considers electronic ID cards sufficient evidence of auto coverage if you get pulled over or need to produce proof of insurance for any other reason.
optional coverages from esurance
Adding some of these additional protections will give you extra peace of mind and financial security in the event of a claim:
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury
- Uninsured motorist property damage
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury
- Underinsured motorist property damage
- Emergency Roadside Service
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Customized parts and equipment
- Loan/lease gap
factors that could impact your utah car insurance rate
The following factors may be taken into consideration when determining your car insurance rates in Utah:
- Driving record and claims history
- Age, gender, and marital status
- Coverage selections, limits, and deductibles
- Year, make and model of your car
- ZIP Code where your car is parked
- Prior insurance history, including lapses
- Discounts you may qualify for
esurance-approved car repair shops in utah
As an Esurance customer, you can take a damaged car to any repair shop you choose. If you choose a shop in our E-star® network, you can take advantage of RepairView®, which lets you monitor your repairs online. Your repairs will also be guaranteed for as long as you own your car.
stats for utah
Utah has seen a consistent decline in fatal car crashes over the past 40 years. In fact, 2013 saw the second-lowest number of traffic-related deaths since 1959 — second only to 2012's numbers.
According to an Insurance Research Council report, Utah boasted one of the lowest rates of uninsured drivers in the country at only 5.8 percent of all motorists in 2012. The national average was 12.6 percent.
The science of drunk driving
Read up on the effects of booze on your brain when it comes to driving.
Do I need to change my car's oil every 3,000 miles?
We set the record straight about this common car maintenance myth.