Factors behind Texas car insurance rates
Most insurance companies (including us) typically use factors like your age and driving experience, your driving record and claim history, your ZIP Code, your car's make and model, how frequently you drive, prior insurance history, and your credit-based insurance score to calculate your premium.
No proof of insurance
Those who are convicted of driving without car insurance may be fined $175 to $350 for a first offense.
Luckily, providing proof of coverage can be as simple as having your phone on hand. State law now permits digital proof of insurance so you can access it on your smartphone, tablet, or other device. Esurance policyholders in Texas can even save ID cards to their phones so they're available offline too through our handy mobile app.
Cancellation of policy
If you've had a policy for 60 days or more, your coverage can be canceled by your insurance company if you don't pay your premium, file a fraudulent claim, or get your license or registration suspended.
Uninsured drivers in Texas
According to a report from the Insurance Research Council, 13.3 percent of Texas drivers were without car insurance in 2012. That was just above the national average of 12.6 percent.
Consider adding some type of uninsured motorist coverage to your policy so that you and your passengers are financially protected if injuries or damage to your property result from an accident caused by an uninsured driver.
Alternative insurance options
If you're considered a high-risk driver because of serious traffic convictions like DWIs or for other reasons, you may have difficulty getting auto insurance from regular insurance companies. If 2 or more car insurance companies have refused to insure you, you may be able to get insurance through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA).