get a south carolina car insurance quote from esurance
south carolina car insurance
There's no doubt about it: living in South Carolina is downright beautiful. And with so many trails to traverse, rivers to raft, and parks to peruse, you have little time (or desire) to scour the web in search of South Carolina's car insurance laws.
Good thing that's exactly where we at Esurance are at our best. We've put together this guide to help make the auto insurance process in your state a little easier to understand — empowering you to make smart decisions with protection.
We've proudly offered top-notch car insurance to drivers in the Palmetto State since 2007. Get a personalized South Carolina auto insurance quote and see how much you could save on reliable coverage.
"Best of Service"
"The customer staff are very caring. They answer questions promptly and have helped in all my inquiries."
— Linda K.
"Beat all other pricing while not making me sacrifice my personalized coverage."
— Douglas F.
south carolina car insurance discounts from esurance
We hope to bring a little southern comfort to Palmetto State residents with our wide array of discounts. Here's a few of the smart ways we help drivers earn savings in your state:
- Multi-Car discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Fast 5® discount
- Good Student discount
- Homeowners discount
- Defensive Driver discount
Already have an Esurance policy? Call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) if you have questions about your discounts (some exclusions may apply).
south carolina auto insurance coverages
All South Carolina drivers are legally required to have these coverages and limits on their policies:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability per incident
- $25,000 for property damage per incident
- Uninsured motorist coverage of 25/50/25 (same as the minimum liability limits)
These additional protections can give South Carolina drivers extra peace of mind in the event of a claim:
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury
- Underinsured motorist property damage
- Rental reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Service
- Customized parts and equipment
- Loan/lease gap
- Medical payments
How fault works after an accident
When it comes to liability, South Carolina is a tort state. That means you can sue at-fault drivers in order to recoup medical expenses or the cost of car repairs. The state also practices comparative negligence, which means that the amount of money you end up recouping depends on the percentage of the accident that was your fault.
factors that could affect car insurance rates in south carolina
South Carolina insurers could take the following factors into account when determining your premium:
- Driving record and claim history
- ZIP Code where your car is parked
- Age, gender, and marital status
- Year, make, and model of your car
- Discounts you may qualify for
- Your credit-based insurance score
And of course, the coverages and limits you choose also impact what your car insurance premium will be. Cue our super-smart online system, CoverageMyWay®, which uses cutting-edge technology to help you tailor auto coverage options to your life.
insurance stats in south carolina
An Insurance Research Council report estimated that 7.7 percent of the state's drivers were uninsured in 2012. The good news: this was below the national average of 12.6 percent.
Because South Carolina requires all policies to include uninsured motorist coverage, insured drivers have some financial protection against those who don't have enough (or any) insurance.
Uninsured motorist fee
South Carolina approaches the problem of uninsured motorists a little differently than other states. In lieu of having car insurance, you can pay the state an uninsured motorist fee of $550 a year so long as you meet certain requirements. You'll still be liable for any damage caused in an at-fault accident.
No proof of insurance
If you're given a citation for driving without insurance, your driving privileges will be suspended. You'll also need to pay a $550 reinstatement fee and file an SR-22 for 3 years. An SR-22 is a proof of financial responsibility form required by the state and filed through your car insurance company.
South Carolina's rules on digital proof of insurance
South Carolina law permits drivers to display electronic proof of car insurance on a smartphone or tablet in the event that they get pulled over and need to provide evidence of auto coverage. If you're an Esurance customer in the Palmetto State, you can download our mobile app and even save your proof of coverage to your phone so it's available offline too.
e-star® car repair shops in your state
E-star shops are Esurance-approved facilities that feature RepairView®, which allows you to track your repairs online every step of the way. Plus, your repairs are guaranteed for the entire time you own the vehicle.
Night driving tips
Get the scoop on the dangers of driving at night and how to drive safer.
What to check when buying a used car
Get info from the experts at Esurance on what to check off your used-car checklist.