Uninsured drivers in Ohio
It's illegal to drive in Ohio without proper car insurance or proof of financial responsibility.
Just because it's illegal, of course, doesn't mean drivers don't do it. A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimates that 16 percent of Ohio drivers were uninsured in 2009, compared to the national average of 13.8 percent.
No proof of insurance
If you're an Ohio resident who's caught driving without proof of insurance, you'll need to go to court to show that you are insured. If you don't show proof, penalties include a suspended license (90 days for first-time offenders and up to a year for repeats) and you'll need to file an SR-22 form when you reinstate your license (for a fee).
Ohio's law on electronic proof of insurance
Buckeye State motorists can provide digital proof of their car insurance via smartphone, tablet, or other smart device under Ohio law. And with Esurance's handy mobile app, you can quickly and easily access ID cards (along with a bunch of other policy documents) if you ever get pulled over.
Alternative car insurance options
If you don't want a typical car insurance policy but want to legally drive in Ohio, you can prove your financial responsibility by leaving $30,000 with the state treasurer. If you can't part with $30,000, you can have 2 people vouch for you by cosigning a bond with the state using their real estate as collateral. Together the cosigners must have $60,000 in equity. (Or you can just get car insurance.)