When you live in a rugged state like North Dakota, it's the essentials that matter most — like your ND auto insurance (and if there's time: food, shelter, and your DVR backlog). We'll give you an easy-to-understand roundup of North Dakota's insurance laws and policy options, plus help you secure a fast, personalized North Dakota car insurance quote.
With convenient online tools that help clarify the insurance process (plus a bunch of money-saving discounts), Esurance is here to help you secure affordable car insurance the smart way. (What can we say? It makes us sleep better knowing everyone's saving.)
"The customer staff are very caring. They answer questions promptly and have helped in all my inquiries."
— Linda K.
"Beat all other pricing while not making me sacrifice my personalized coverage."
— Douglas F.
Drivers in North Dakota will be happy as a Western Meadowlark to find out all the smart ways they could save money with Esurance. Take a peek at some of our unique car insurance discounts in The 701:
Discounts may vary. If you already have an Esurance policy and have questions about North Dakota car insurance discounts, give us a ring at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
All North Dakota auto insurance policies need to have three coverage types: liability insurance, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP).
North Dakota drivers are legally required to maintain liability insurance with the following minimum limits:
These limits will often appear as 25/50/25. Want even more financial protection? No problem — you can opt for higher limits when you get your North Dakota car insurance quote.
Car insurance in North Dakota also needs to include uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, with the same minimum limits as bodily injury liability (25/50).
These coverages offer financial protection in case you're injured in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn't have enough auto insurance to pay your expenses. They can also come to your rescue after a hit-and-run incident.
Additionally, state law requires you to maintain $30,000 of PIP per person, which pays for medical expenses after an accident — including lost wages if you're unable to return to work, regardless of who caused the incident.
PIP does not apply to property damage, like car repairs.
These additional coverage options can be real life-savers in the event you need to file a claim. Get to know some of your choices:
Comprehensive and collision may be required by your lease or finance company.
If you already have an Esurance policy and have questions about your coverages or would like to make changes to your policy, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions will apply.
Using complex algorithms, super-smart technology, and a ton of secret sauce, CoverageMyWay helps you tailor an auto policy specifically to your lifestyle. It makes it easy for you to prioritize car insurance coverage options so you get personalized protection.
North Dakota uses comparative negligence to determine fault after a car accident. This means that all drivers involved can be assigned a share, or percentage, of fault, which affects claim settlements.
Here's an example: let's say you're assigned 40 percent of the blame for an accident and another driver shares 60 percent. Because you were the driver "least at fault," you can file a property damage claim with the other driver's insurance company. But because the other driver was found "most at fault," he or she is unable to file liability claims against you.
The following factors can influence what you pay for car insurance in North Dakota:
The coverages, as well as the limits and deductibles you choose, will also impact your premium.
The Insurance Research Council estimated that about 6 percent of the state's drivers lacked car insurance in 2012.
That's well below the national average of 12.6 percent (which is awesome!). But it still means that a significant number of cars lacks the liability coverage needed to help pay for your car repairs and medical expenses if that driver causes a crash.
Luckily, uninsured motorist coverage — which, again, is required in North Dakota — can help shield you from uninsured drivers in your state and protect your hard-earned savings.
In case you haven't gotten the gist … it's a definite no-no. This violation is a class B misdemeanor with a fine of at least $150. Even worse, any uninsured drivers in a car accident will have their drivers licenses automatically suspended.
All the more reason to keep your insurance up to date and stay legally covered.
Roughrider State drivers can whip out their phones (slowly, now) next time they get pulled over, since state law allows motorists to display digital proof of car insurance in place of those pesky papers. And if you're a North Dakotan with an Esurance policy, you can access your ID cards and other policy documents any time of the day with our easy-to-use mobile app.
If you're considered a high-risk driver (due to a history of DUIs or at-fault accidents) and you can't find insurance through the regular market, you may be eligible for the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan.
It's generally more expensive than regular policies, but it'll give you the coverage you're required to have by law (yay!). You can call 1-888-706-6100 for more info.
The perfect emergency road kit
Help ensure you're ready for whatever the open road throws your way with this guide to the perfect road kit.
North Dakota Insurance Department
The North Dakota Insurance Department is dedicated to answering your car insurance questions.