get a michigan car insurance quote from esurance
Bundle your Michigan auto insurance with home insurance and save up to 10 percent with our Multi-Policy discount.*
affordable michigan car insurance
As the birthplace of U.S. car manufacturing, Michigan has a rich history steeped in the auto industry — and the people of Michigan know a thing or 2 about cars. And if you're a Michigan motorist, you also know that the state has pretty unique auto insurance requirements.
For example, Michigan's no-fault law means that you're legally required to carry PLPD insurance (or personal liability and property damage), which covers you if you accidentally injure someone or damage their property (as long as it wasn't their car, which the other person's insurance will pay for assuming they have the right coverage). This is all regardless of who was at fault in the accident.
However, this basic no-fault insurance alone doesn't cover damages to your own car if you're at fault for an incident. Additionally, Michigan also has a higher-than-average uninsured rate compared to other states (21 percent of drivers on average in recent years), making it essential to find optimal car insurance protection.
Michigan teen driving laws also require special attention for new drivers and their parents. The Wolverine State's young drivers must go through a graduated driver's license (GDL) program — a system designed to license new drivers over the course of 3 phases, gradually increasing their driving privileges. Given that 20 percent of licensed 16-year-olds will be involved in a car accident during their first year of driving, this is a vital time to ensure you and your child have the proper coverage, limits, and deductibles on your auto policy.
Compare car insurance quotes, whether you need insurance for PLPD, GDL, or comprehensive and collision coverages (aka "full coverage car insurance" in Michigan). Esurance can help make Michigan's unique car insurance requirements simple to decipher with our easy-to-use online quotes that help explain your car insurance options in simple terms.
From Detroit to Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids to Lansing, Esurance helps you find affordable Michigan car insurance rates on reliable, top-notch coverage.
"Best of Service"
"The customer staff are very caring. They answer questions promptly and have helped in all my inquiries."
— Linda K.
"Beat all other pricing while not making me sacrifice my personalized coverage."
— Douglas F.
michigan car insurance discounts from esurance
When you buy auto insurance from Esurance, you could see big savings with these discounts in Michigan:
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Homeowners discount
- Fast 5® discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Claim-Free discount
- Good Student discount
- Safety Device discount
- Anti-Theft discount
- Multi-Policy discount
Some exclusions may apply. If you're a current Esurance policyholder and have questions about your discounts, call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262), where our licensed agents are available to help at these times.
required coverages in michigan
Michigan has its own set of unique car insurance laws and regulations (not quite music to your ears, we know). Don't worry, we'll explain things as simply as we can, starting with perhaps its most distinctive coverage: Michigan no-fault insurance.
Michigan law dictates that all drivers need no-fault insurance before they can register their cars.
This 3-pronged Michigan no-fault combo (as you might expect) is unique to this state.
Personal injury protection
Personal injury protection (PIP) pays for medical costs if you or your passengers are hurt in a car accident. It can also pay for lost wages, funeral expenses, in-home care, and other services.
The exact type of PIP you need on your Michigan auto insurance varies based on your health insurance policy.
- If you don't have health insurance, you'll add "PIP medical — primary" to your policy.
- If you do have health insurance that can kick in to pay for post-accident medical expenses, you can add "PIP excess — coordinated medical benefits" coverage to your policy. PIP excess can cover medical expenses above and beyond what your health plan can cover.
- If you have health insurance but it doesn't cover lost income after a car accident, you can add "PIP primary work loss benefits" to your policy.
- If you do have health insurance that covers lost income, you can add "PIP excess (coordinated) medical benefits" to your policy.
And if all that makes your head spin, fear not. Our customer service center stands by to help you get a quote or manage your policy at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
- Property protection insurance
Property protection insurance (PPI) can pay up to $1 million in property damage costs after an accident, regardless of fault. It can cover buildings, trees, road signs, and other things your car may strike in a crash. It doesn't pay for damage to any other cars involved in the accident.
- Residual bodily injury and property damage liability
No-fault car insurance generally protects you from liability, except in certain extreme cases. In these extreme cases, residual bodily injury and property damage liability can help pay defense costs and damages if you're found at-fault for an accident (up to your policy's limits). It can also cover you if you're in an accident outside of Michigan.
Your Michigan no-fault insurance policy needs to have the following coverages and limits, at a minimum:
- $20,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $40,000 bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage for accidents you cause outside of Michigan
- $1,000,000 property protection insurance for damage in Michigan
- Personal injury protection (no limit)
You'll typically see the bodily injury and property damage limits written as 20/40/10. Keep in mind, these are the bare minimums required by your state, and you can choose higher liability limits when you get your personalized quote.
Most states let you take legal action, if necessary, to recoup post-accident medical expenses when the other driver is at fault. Michigan, however, is 1 of 12 "no-fault" states that restrict your right to sue.
With Michigan no-fault, your own car insurance policy kicks in to cover accident-related medical expenses for you and your passengers. Only in extreme cases (severe injury or death) does fault re-enter the equation.
It's worth noting that no-fault insurance doesn't pay for damage to your own car (comprehensive and collision can take care of that).
You may be able to designate your personal health insurance policy as the primary source of medical payment if you're in an accident. That means PIP will kick in only after your health coverage limits are exceeded.
You'll still be required to carry PIP but you may be able to lower your overall premiums if you coordinate the 2 types of coverage this way.
Before taking this step, you may want to review your policy carefully to make sure it covers all injuries caused by car accidents. This includes whether it will pay for all hospitalization and other medical costs, deductibles, and additional accident-related expenses.
optional car insurance coverages
When you buy an Esurance policy, you'll have the chance to add these additional options for protection:
- Limited property damage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury liability
- Towing and labor
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Custom parts and equipment
- Auto loan/lease (or "gap")
With the bevy of protections offered to Wolverine State residents, Esurance's CoverageMyWay® can help you prioritize your coverage options while you're getting a quote, empowering you to make smart decisions with your protection.
esurance-approved repair shops in michigan
If you have Michigan car insurance from Esurance, our network of approved repair shops (E-star® shops) offers online repair tracking through RepairView® and guaranteed repairs for as long as the car's yours.
factors that may help determine your michigan car insurance rates
By being a safe driver and responsible policyholder, it's easy to manage your car insurance rates and qualify for discounts. Other factors that can influence what you pay include:
- Driving record and insurance history
- Age and length of time as a licensed driver
- ZIP Code where your car is parked
- Your car's year, make, and model
- Coverages, limits, and deductibles you choose
- Discounts you may qualify for
insurance facts for michigan drivers
A report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that a whopping 21 percent of Michigan drivers were uninsured in 2012. That was significantly higher than the national average of 12.6 percent.
While uninsured motorist coverage is optional in Michigan, it's worth considering when about 1 in 5 drivers on the road lacks even the minimum car insurance coverage.
If you're caught driving without basic car insurance in Michigan, you may be fined up to $500 and sentenced to up to one year in jail. Other fines may also be charged at the court's discretion. For instance, your drivers license may be suspended for at least 30 days or until you can show proof of Michigan auto insurance.
The Essential Insurance Act (EIA) requires that insurers accept most Michigan residents for car insurance. There are some exceptions, such as drivers with revoked or suspended licenses, which vary by insurer.
If you're unable to get car insurance in Michigan from traditional insurers in your state, you may apply for coverage through the Michigan Auto Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF). You can apply through any licensed insurance agent.
Detroit auto insurance
Learn about Detroit's unique driving conditions, coverages, discounts, and more.
Michigan Department of State
Find info on licensing and registration here.