According to statistics from the State Bureau of Highway Safety, there were 3,111 car crashes involving distracted drivers in 2013 alone — including 12 fatal crashes.
The alarming trend helped prompt a 4-year statewide campaign aimed at combating distracted driving. The initiative — launched in 2014 by highway and police officials — is aptly named, "One text or call could wreck it all."
Maine's uninsured drivers
According to a 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council using data from 2009, Maine was tied with Massachusetts for the lowest rate of uninsured drivers in the nation at just 4.5 percent (which is awesome!). The national average was 13.8 percent.
But uninsured drivers still present a major risk to everyone on the road. To protect yourself from uninsured drivers, Maine requires you to purchase uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. The best way to financially protect yourself from the uninsured is to buy the most coverage you can comfortably afford.
Driving without Maine car insurance
If you drive in Maine without car insurance, you could be fined $100–$500. Your driving privileges may also be suspended.
But no more fumbling through the glove box if you get pulled over, Pine Tree State residents. Maine law allows digital proof of insurance, which means you can pull up legitimate evidence of your coverage on your smartphone, tablet, or other device.
Maine's rules on electronic proof of insurance
No more fumbling through the glove box if you get pulled over, Pine Tree State residents. Maine law allows digital proof of insurance, which means you can pull up legitimate evidence of your coverage on your smartphone, tablet, or other device in the event of an unfortunate pullover.
And if you're an Esurance customer, you can access your ID cards, manage your policy, and even file a claim through our innovative mobile app.
Drunk driving in Maine
There were 49 drunk-driving fatalities in Maine in 2012 — a 113 percent increase over the previous year according to statistics from Mothers Against Drunk Driving. That accounted for 30 percent of all total traffic deaths in Maine in 2012.
In 2013, Maine became the twentieth state in the country to require even first-time convicted drunk drivers to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles.
This is one of multiple steps the state is taking to make the roads safer (and in turn, the car insurance less expensive) for everyone.