Uninsured drivers in Illinois
The Insurance Research Council recently estimated that 15 percent of Illinois' drivers were uninsured in 2009. This was a bit higher than the national average of 13.8 percent.
With so many drivers on the road without insurance, it's important to protect yourself with uninsured and underinsured motorist coverages. In the event of an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, these coverages will step in to help pay for injuries sustained by you and your passengers, as well as repair or replacement costs for your vehicle.
Penalties for driving uninsured
If you're convicted of driving without car insurance, your license plates will be suspended and you could face a fine of at least $500.
Illinois' comparative negligence law
The state's modified comparative negligence law comes into play when both drivers are partially responsible for an accident. You can only recoup damages from the other driver if you're determined to be less than 50 percent at fault, and how much you can recover may depend on your share of the fault.
Alternative insurance options
If you're unable to purchase car insurance through typical channels, the IL Automobile Insurance Plan (ILAIP) may be an option. To be eligible, you must have attempted (and failed) to purchase insurance within the past 60 days. Any licensed insurance agent or broker can apply to the program on your behalf.