Hawaii drivers are required by the state to maintain at least the following coverages and limits:
- $20,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $40,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 of property damage liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person
You can choose higher limits and add additional coverages, like comprehensive and collision or uninsured motorist coverage, when you customize your policy.
No-fault coverage in Hawaii
Hawaii is a no-fault insurance state. This means that regardless of fault, each driver's personal injury protection (PIP) coverage can kick in to help pay for the policyholder's (and passengers') medical expenses.
Depending on who's found at fault, you can still sue or be sued for medical expenses if the accident causes:
- Medical expenses exceeding $5,000
- Severe injuries or death
Hawaii's no-fault laws affect medical expense claims only, and they don't affect how property damage claims are handled. That means you can file a claim against an at-fault driver's insurer or sue for expenses associated with a damaged car or property.
Unlike other PIP states, coverage for lost wages, substitute services, funeral benefits, and more are not automatically included in Hawaii's PIP insurance. It's best to contact your insurance company to know exactly what you're protected for.