Proof of car insurance
Georgia requires you to carry your insurance policy info card in the car with you whenever you're behind the wheel.
Electronic proof of insurance for your car is accepted in addition to paper documents if you get pulled over or otherwise need to prove you have coverage.
If you're covered by Esurance in the Peach State, you have automatic access to our helpful mobile app, where you can access your ID cards and policy documents any time of day.
To find a coverage plan that works for you, be familiar with Georgia car insurance laws and the strict driving laws in the state. The Peach State requires continuous coverage, and a lapse in coverage can result in fines, as well as registration and license suspension.
Uninsured drivers in Georgia
A report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that about 12 percent of Georgia drivers were uninsured in 2015, which was just below the national average of 13 percent.
Georgia's Joshua Law
Joshua's Law requires that 16-year-olds applying for an intermediate drivers license must complete a driver education course and have a total of 40 hours of experience (including 6 hours at night) while driving supervised by a licensed, adult driver. Drivers 17 years old and older are not required to take the course but they must have the same number of supervised driving hours.
It's important to note that anyone under 18 who has withdrawn from school, has a conduct infraction, or has frequent unexcused absences is not allowed to apply for or keep a drivers license or permit. For more information about restrictions for teen drivers, visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services.