get a delaware car insurance quote through esurance

or call 1-800-378-7262

(24 hours a day, 7 days a week)

delaware car insurance

You may live in the Diamond State, but that doesn't mean your Delaware auto insurance should cost a fortune and send your savings crumbling like coal.

Even though Esurance doesn't currently offer car insurance to Delaware drivers, we're still determined to help you find a reliable policy at a price you can afford. After all, we love to see drivers getting the coverage that's right for them — no matter whom it's with.

By getting a quote through our hassle-free, technology-driven website, you can compare rates of top companies side by side. That way, you know exactly what you're getting — and more importantly, what you could be saving!

required auto insurance coverages in delaware

Liability coverage

Liability coverage can help pay others' expenses if you're found at fault in a car accident. At minimum, your policy needs to have at least the following limits:

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage per incident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage per incident

You'll often see these limits written as 15/30/10.

Personal injury protection (PIP)

After a car accident, PIP can help cover medical expenses (and more) for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.

Your PIP coverage needs to have the following minimum limits:

  • $15,000 PIP per person
  • $30,000 PIP per incident

optional car insurance coverages

With most companies, you'll be able to add the following coverages to your policy:

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Uninsured motorist
  • Underinsured motorist
  • Towing and labor
  • Rental car

Collision and comprehensive may be required by your finance or lease company.

Uninsured drivers in Delaware

The Insurance Research Council estimated that 11.5 percent of Delaware drivers were uninsured in 2012. This was below the national average of 12.6 percent, but it still makes for a good deal of risky motorists out there.

Although it's not required, uninsured motorist coverage can come in handy if you're in a crash caused by an uninsured driver.

factors that could influence your delaware car insurance rate

Most insurance companies in the Diamond State consider the following factors when determining your premium:

  • Driving record and claims history
  • Age, gender, marital status, and number of years licensed
  • Year, make, and model of your vehicle
  • Coverages, limits, and deductibles that you choose for your policy
  • ZIP Code where your vehicle is garaged or parked

alternative car insurance options

Drivers who have unsuccessfully applied for coverage with at least 2 auto insurance companies can notify the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's office. You may be eligible for an assigned risk program that automatically places you with an insurer.

electronic proof of insurance in the first state

Forget to throw your updated ID cards in your glove box? It happens to the best of us — and the good news is, you're not out of luck if you get pulled over. Delaware law allows drivers to provide digital proof of car insurance on their smartphones and tablets.

Related links

The pros and cons of high deductibles
First thing's first: what's a deductible, anyway? Plus, get the lowdown on the good and bad behind high deductibles.

Delaware's Instant Insurance Guide (PDF)
Delaware's Insurance Commissioner created this handy guide to car insurance in the First State.

Wonder if you could be saving on car insurance?

get your free quote online

or call 1-800-378-7262