Welcome, Connecticuters. Whether you're new to the Constitution State or just tracking down some info, you're in the right place for all things car insurance in Connecticut. You can get a free Connecticut car insurance quote in mere minutes, instantly gaining access to our interactive online tools that make the insurance process more transparent and easy to understand.
Once you become part of the Esurance family (and we're confident you will), you'll have the same easy access to flexible online policy management, 24/7 claims service, and an overall hassle-free insurance process. Whether you live in Hartford, Bridgeport, or somewhere in between, Esurance technology and tools are built to save residents of your superb state time and money the smart way.
"The customer staff are very caring. They answer questions promptly and have helped in all my inquiries."
— Linda K.
"Beat all other pricing while not making me sacrifice my personalized coverage."
— Douglas F.
Here are a few ways Connecticut residents could cut down their auto insurance costs:
Discounts may vary. To review your current Esurance discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262), where our agents are available at these times.
Connecticut drivers are legally required to carry the following coverages and minimum limits:
Connecticut drivers who want a little extra financial protection and peace of mind can add these additional coverages to their policy:
Esurance customers who take their cars to Esurance-approved body shops can take advantage of RepairView® and guaranteed repairs for as long as they own their cars.
Find an E-star shop near you.
The following factors can affect your car insurance premium in Connecticut:
When you get a Connecticut insurance quote from Esurance, CoverageMyWay® can help you tailor car coverage options.
An Insurance Research Council report estimated that 8 percent of Connecticut drivers were uninsured in 2012. That was well below the national average of 12.6 percent.
Car insurance is mandatory for Connecticut drivers, and you must keep your proof of insurance in your car at all times. This can be your policy's declarations page or your permanent ID card.
A lapse or cancellation of coverage will be reported by your former insurer to the state, which will result in a notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles.
This warning allows you to purchase auto coverage and pay a $200 fine in order to avoid facing more serious repercussions, including a suspension of your drivers license among others.
If you're considered a high-risk driver and you're struggling to find an insurance policy, visit the state's official page for non-standard car insurance coverage.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 248 people lost their lives in car accidents in Connecticut in 2014. The good news: Connecticut's overall traffic fatality rate (per 100,000 people) was 6.90 for the same year, well below the national average of 10.25.
Connecticut has enacted stricter driving laws for teenagers, including mandatory license suspensions and court fines for violations like cell phone usage, driving intoxicated, and street racing, among others.
And these restrictions seem to be working. Between 2008 and 2012, there was a 60 percent drop in Connecticut car crashes involving 16- and 17-year-old drivers.
Driving danger zones
Learn more about common and lesser-known danger areas while driving.
How to handle a car accident: a 7-step guide
Get expert, step-by-step info on what to do after a crash.