Proof of insurance in Colorado
We're all human: sometimes we forget to throw our updated ID cards in the glove box. But if you get pulled over, you're not out of luck: Colorado allows drivers to provide electronic proof of car insurance on their smartphones and other devices as appropriate evidence of coverage.
Even better, if you're an Esurance customer, you can access our free mobile app 24/7 for your ID cards, policy documents, and more.
Failure to provide proof of insurance upon request can result in a 4-point penalty on your driving record, as well as a fine.
Uninsured drivers in Colorado
A report from the Insurance Research Council found that 16.2 percent of Colorado drivers were uninsured in 2012, which was above the national average of 12.6 percent.
While uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is optional in your state, it provides financial protection if you're ever in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, and it also protects you in the event of a hit-and-run accident.