Uninsured drivers in Arizona
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 12 percent of Arizona drivers were uninsured in 2009, which is below the national average of 13.8 percent.
Nonetheless, many states now require uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage to prevent insured drivers from paying their own injury costs in the event of an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Similarly, uninsured and underinsured motorist property damage coverage helps pay for repair or replacement costs if your vehicle is damaged by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. Both coverages protect you in hit-and-run situations.
Proof of insurance law
Arizona requires drivers to carry proof of car insurance coverage, like an insurance ID card, in their cars whenever they're driving.
You're allowed under state law to present proof of auto insurance on an electronic device such as a smartphone or tablet in case you get pulled over.
If you're already an Esurance customer, make sure to check out our helpful mobile app. You can save your ID cards to your phone (in addition to other awesome stuff) so that they're available offline — we know all those cacti can block cell reception!
Alternative car insurance options
If you're struggling to find coverage because of your driving history or a similar reason, contact the Arizona Department of Insurance at 1-800-544-9208.