wyoming driver information
Welcome to our overview of driving in Wyoming. Driving knowledge is driving power, and with that in mind, we gathered relevant Wyoming stats, facts, laws, and licensing info in one convenient place.
Driving in Wyoming
Licensed drivers: 411,000
Registered vehicles: 652,000
Highest posted speed limit: 75 mph on rural interstates (tied for highest in U.S.)
Licensing and registration authority: Wyoming Dept. of Transportation – Driver Services
Car accidents and violations in Wyoming
Drivers are required to turn in an accident report to the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) within 10 days if the incident involved injuries or more than $1,000 in property damage.
Moving violations and your Wyoming driving record
As a Wyoming driver, the state allows you to maintain your driving privileges so long as you have 3 or fewer moving violations within a one-year span.
If you get a fourth conviction within one year, your driving privileges will be suspended for 90 days (and an additional 90 days for additional violations within that one-year span).
How a drivers license could be suspended
On top of moving violations, any of the following could lead to a suspended license:
- Failing to pay a traffic ticket (in-state or out-of-state citation)
- Reckless driving
- Leaving the scene of an accident
DWUI (driving while under the influence) penalties in Wyoming
DWUIs convictions lead to the following driving penalties:
- 1st offense = 90-day license suspension, reinstatement fine, and mandate to file an SR-22 through your insurer
- 2nd offense (within 10 years) = 1-year license suspension, reinstatement fine, the requirement of an SR-22 form, and the installation of an ignition interlock device
- 3rd offense (within 10 years) = 3-year license suspension, reinstatement fine, SR-22 form, drug rehab program, mandate to retake drivers license test after the suspension period, and the installation of ignition interlock device
Drivers under 21 can be charged with a DWUI if their BAC is 0.02 or higher.
Administrative per se penalty
If you're arrested for drinking and driving and your chemical test shows a BAC of .08 or higher, you'll receive an administrative per se charge, even if the DWUI charge is dismissed in court.
This results in a 90-day license suspension and a reinstatement fine.
Distracted driving in Wyoming
Texting while driving is illegal for all Wyoming drivers.
Moving to Wyoming
Most new Wyoming residents will have a one-year grace period after establishing residency to trade in their out-of-state drivers licenses for new Wyoming ones.
If you're moving from Wisconsin, Tennessee, Michigan, Massachusetts, or Georgia, you'll need to apply for a new license once you establish residency. These states aren't part of Wyoming's "drivers license compact."
All new arrivals should register their vehicles in Wyoming as soon as they become official residents.
Drivers who don't need a Wyoming license
If you come to Wyoming for one of the following reasons, you can keep your out-of-state license:
- To work as a government employee, driving a government vehicle
- To serve in the armed forces
- To attend a college or university in the state
Wyoming's student-driver process
Becoming a licensed driver in Wyoming typically involves 3 steps: an instruction permit, an intermediate license, and, finally, a full and unrestricted drivers license.
Step 1 – how to get an instruction permit
- Be at least 15 years old
- Pass written knowledge test
- Pass vision screening
Restrictions of permit
Drivers on a permit must be accompanied at all times by a licensed driver 18 or older.
Step 2 – how to get an intermediate license
- Be at least 16 years old
- Hold instruction permit for at least 6 months
- Complete 50 hours of parent/guardian-supervised driving (10 at night)
- Pass vision screening
- Pass either the road-skills test or complete a 30-hour drivers ed course.
Restrictions of intermediate license
- No more than one passenger under 18 (excluding family members)
- No night driving (between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.) except for school/work/medical reasons, or when accompanied by a licensed driver over 18
Step 3 – full drivers license
- Be at least 17 years old (if you haven't completed drivers ed)
- Be at least 16 1/2 years old (if you have completed drivers ed)
- Hold intermediate license for at least 6 months
- Pass vision screening
Getting a drivers license if you're 17 or older
You can earn your full license as soon as you pass the vision screening, knowledge exam, and road-skills test.
Wyoming car insurance
Visit our guide to Wyoming car insurance to get a better feel for your policy.
Winter driving 101
Handle Wyoming's seasonal hazards, from black ice to hail, with some pointers from our blog.
Wyoming speed laws (PDF)
Get the lowdown on speeding in Wyoming — including limits to know and possible penalties for exceeding them.