wyoming car insurance
Hi there, Wyoming driver. Welcome to our guide to Wyoming car insurance. You'll find info on required coverages, pricing factors, how fault is determined after an accident, and more.
Wyoming car insurance: the basics
Liability insurance is required for all motorists in Wyoming. This helps pay others' medical expenses or car repairs after an at-fault accident.
The state requires you to carry liability coverage with at least the following limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $20,000 in property damage liability coverage per incident
These limits often appear as 25/50/20. You can select higher limits, if you prefer, when you customize your policy.
Uninsured motorist coverage isn't required, but it will be automatically added to your policy unless you reject it in writing.
Licensing and registration authority: Wyoming Dept. of Transportation – Driver Services
Esurance in Wyoming
While we're not currently available in Wyoming, we can help you shop for, compare, and buy a policy that fits your needs.
Start your free quote here.
Commonly available coverages in Wyoming
You can typically add the following optional coverages to your policy:
- Uninsured motorist coverage (included automatically unless you decline it in writing)
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Medical expense coverage
- Rental car reimbursement coverage
- Towing and labor
If you lease your car or have a loan on it, your loan or finance company may require that you add comprehensive and collision coverage to your policy.
Carrying proof of car insurance
Cars can't be registered in Wyoming unless the owner can show proof of liability coverage.
Keep your proof of insurance ID card in your glove box. Police officers may request it at any time, and failure to show this proof within 7 days of the request can result in a suspended drivers license, fines of up to $750, and imprisonment for up to 6 months.
Filing an SR-22
An SR-22 is a certificate your insurance company can file on your behalf if the state requires it. The SR-22 proves that you have the legally required amount of coverage through your insurer.
Drivers whose licenses have been suspended may need to file an SR-22 through their insurers for a 3-year period.
Uninsured drivers in Wyoming
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 10 percent of Wyoming drivers were uninsured in 2009. On the bright side, this was below the national average of 13.8 percent. But it still means every tenth driver was uninsured.
Uninsured motorist coverage is designed to offer financial protection from the uninsured, who may not be able to pay for your medical expenses or repairs after an accident you didn't cause. It's not required in Wyoming, but it will be added to your policy automatically unless you decline it in writing.
Notable stats that could influence Wyoming rates
Depending on your insurer, the general driving habits, claims, and accident rates in your neck of the woods may impact what you pay for car insurance. With that in mind, here are a few stats worth mentioning.
A 2010 report from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics revealed that Wyoming had the worst traffic fatality rate in the nation in 2009. The state experienced 25 driving-related deaths per every 100,000 motorists. The national average was 11 per 100,000 drivers.
Seat belt use
In 2009, just 68 percent of front-seat occupants were observed using restraints. That was the lowest mark in the nation, and well below the national average of 84 percent.
Wyoming has the fewest number of commuters of any state (roughly 277,000, according to U.S. Census data). And the fewer drivers there are packing a given area during rush hour, the fewer fenders getting, well, bendered.
Wyoming driver info
Stats, facts, and laws that impact Wyoming drivers.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Get a personalized policy recommendation in just a few minutes.
Wyoming Insurance Department
Wyoming's official insurance authority.