west virginia car insurance
Welcome to our guide to West Virginia car insurance. Browse through info on liability insurance requirements, possible discounts, and a whole lot more.
Required car insurance in West Virginia
All West Virginia drivers need liability insurance, which can help pay for others' medical and property expenses if you're the at-fault driver in an accident. You're also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage to protect your finances from the uninsured.
The state requires you to maintain coverages with at least the following limits:
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $40,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per incident
The same minimums apply to uninsured motorist coverage.
You'll commonly see these coverage limits listed as 20/40/10.
Esurance in West Virginia
Sadly, Esurance is not currently available to West Virginia's motorists. But dry those eyes. We can still help you get a free online quote and compare policies from top companies.
Proof of insurance
West Virginians are required to keep proof of coverage (in the form of a WV-1 certificate of insurance) in the car at all times.
Failure to show your proof of insurance can lead to a 30-day suspension of your drivers license plus a deactivated vehicle registration.
The state also reserves the right to request proof of insurance through the mail at any time.
Factors that may affect your car insurance premium
In addition to the coverages, limits, and deductibles you choose to add to your policy, the following might have an impact on what you pay:
- Driving record
- Claims history
- Age, gender, and marital status
- Credit-based insurance score
- Make and model of your car
- How many miles you drive
- Where you live
- Discounts you qualify for
- Prior lapses in coverage
Commonly offered discounts in West Virginia
Ask an insurer about one or more of the following perks when you're shopping for car insurance in West Virginia:
- Multi-car discount
- Safe driver discount
- Defensive driving course discount
- Anti-theft discount
- Low mileage discount
- Safety device discount
- Good grade discount
- Daytime running lights discount
- Longtime customer discount
- Senior driver discount
Car accidents and uninsured drivers in West Virginia
West Virginia is a tort state. This means that in a car accident, the at-fault driver and that driver's insurer are financially liable for the not-at-fault driver's expenses.
Uninsured drivers in West Virginia
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 11 percent of West Virginians were uninsured in 2009. That was about 3 percent lower than the national average, but it still means more than 1 in 10 drivers had no liability coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage offers financial protection from the uninsured.
Accidents with uninsured motorists
If you're struck by a driver who lacks coverage, you're allowed to seek compensation in court.
Once the court makes a ruling, you can submit that report to the DMV. The uninsured motorist may then be suspended from driving until the settlement is paid.
West Virginia driver info
Stats, facts, laws, and licensing info that's of interest to West Virginia drivers.
The Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Spend a few minutes with our online counselor for personalized WV coverage recommendations.
West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
Your official state resource for any insurance-related inquiries.