vermont driver information
Vermonters are discerning people who know a thing or 2 about a thing or 2. To help you learn even more about driving in Vermont, we've put together this handy fact sheet.
Vermont driver information
Number of licensed drivers: 507,000
Registered vehicles: 557,000
Licensing and registration authority: Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Average commuting time: 21.9 minutes (national average: 25.2)
License and registration in Vermont
Once you move to Vermont, you have 60 days to get your Vermont drivers license and to register your car with the DMV.
Drivers in the military
Vermonters on active duty outside of the state are granted an extension on an expiring drivers license. The extension can last as long as you're on active duty, up to a period of 4 years.
You have 30 days to renew your license after your discharge and return to Vermont. You can find a printable extension card (PDF) on the Vermont DMV website.
Driving records, accidents, and violations in Vermont
The state uses a penalty point system to track moving violations. Depending on the severity of the offense, a conviction can add between 2–8 points to your driving record.
Your drivers license can be suspended when you have 10 or more points on your record. The more points on the record, the longer the suspension.
DUIs in Vermont
A driver who is 21 or older and has a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher is considered under the influence. Vermont drivers convicted of driving under the influence face a suspended drivers license, a large fine, possible jail time, and increased car insurance rates.
Distracted driving laws
Texting while driving is illegal in Vermont. Although fully licensed drivers aren't prohibited from talking on their cell phones, novice drivers are banned from using them while driving.
Find out why texting and driving is so dangerous.
Reporting accidents in Vermont
Accidents that result in injuries or property damage of $3,000 or more need to be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours.
Stolen cars in Vermont
The Burlington area reported 188 stolen cars in 2011. It was the only Vermont town to hit the National Insurance Crime Bureau's radar that year.
While vehicle theft is less common in Vermont than in other states, it's still a possibility you can guard against by adding other than collision (aka comprehensive) coverage to your car insurance policy.
Most stolen vehicles in Vermont in 2011
- 2006 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Subaru Legacy
- 2002 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2003 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 1993 Subaru Impreza
- 1999 Honda Civic
- 2005 Chevrolet Cavalier
- 1998 Honda Accord
- 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee
- 2000 Subaru Forester
Young drivers in Vermont
First-time drivers need to follow the state's graduated licensing program, which consists of 2 steps before a full license is granted.
Minimum age for a learners permit: 15 years old
- To drive with a learners permit, you must be accompanied by a parent or guardian, an instructor, or a licensed driver who is 25 or older
Minimum age for junior operator license: 16 years old
- You must have held your permit for at least a year and be incident-free for six months to apply for a junior operator license
- To apply for a junior operator license, drivers are required to take a state-approved drivers ed course consisting of 30 instructional hours, 6 hours behind the wheel, and 6 hours of observation
- Drivers are also required to complete 40 hours of driving with a parent/guardian (10 of which must be at night) before applying for a junior operator license
- Passenger restrictions:
- For the first 3 months, drivers with a junior operator license may only drive alone or with a parent/guardian, instructor, or a licensed driver 25 or older
- During the second 3 months, junior drivers are allowed to transport any family members
- After 6 months, all passenger restrictions are lifted
See the Vermont's Driver's Manual (PDF) for more info.
Getting an operator license
Once you turn 18 and pass the required tests, you can apply for your Vermont operator license.
Vermont car insurance information
Get the lowdown on insurance in Vermont
Vermont's Department of Motor Vehicles
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Division website has official info on licenses and registrations.