utah car insurance
Utah features spectacular rock formations, friendly folks, and some complicated car insurance regulations. Our guide to car insurance in Utah will help clarify your options.
Utah car insurance
Utah requires its drivers to maintain the following coverages at the following limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $65,000 bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $15,000 for property damage liability coverage per incident
- $3,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person
Liability coverage can help pay for others' medical and repair bills after you're found at fault in a car accident. PIP, on the other hand, can help cover your own medical expenses after an accident, regardless of fault.
You'll typically see the minimum liability limits expressed as 25/65/15.
How fault works after an accident
Utah is a no-fault state. This means that your own policy's personal injury protection (PIP) can help pay for certain medical-related expenses after a car accident up to a certain limit. An at-fault driver can still be held liable for medical expenses, which is why bodily injury liability coverage is required.
You can customize your PIP coverage (to include lost wage protection, for example) when you buy your policy.
One quick note: no-fault insurance doesn't apply to property damage. The at-fault driver's property damage liability coverage can help pay for others' repairs.
How claims settlements are determined
Utah uses a comparative negligence law. This means that more than one driver can be found at fault, and you can only sue for damages if you're found to be less than 50 percent at fault. If you're found to be 10 percent at fault, the at-fault driver's insurer may offer you a claims settlement that pays up to 90 percent of your post-accident expenses.
Factors that can impact your Utah car insurance rate
- Driving record and claims history
- Age, gender, and marital status
- Coverage selections, limits, and deductibles
- Credit-based insurance score
- Make and model of your car
- Where you live
- Prior insurance history
- Discounts you qualify for
Esurance in Utah
We first offered our technology-driven, customer-focused car insurance to Utah drivers in 2008.
Optional car insurance coverages
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- Underinsured motorist property damage coverage
- Emergency road service
- Rental car coverage
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
Esurance discounts available in Utah
New to Esurance? Get a quote to see if you qualify for any of our Utah car insurance discounts:
- Fast 5® discount (save 5 percent by starting your quote online)
- Good Student discount
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- DriveSense™ discount
If you're already an Esurance policyholder and have questions about your discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Keep in mind that some exclusions may apply.
Our Renters Plus® discount in Utah*
If you're already protecting your ride in Utah with an Esurance car insurance policy, add renters insurance to protect your stuff, too — and nab a discount for good measure.
Esurance-approved car repair shops in Utah
As an Esurance customer, you can take a damaged car to any repair shop you choose. If you choose a shop in our E-star® network, you can take advantage of RepairView®, which lets you monitor your repairs online. Your repairs will also be guaranteed for as long as you own your car.
Find an E-star shop near you.
Uninsured drivers in Utah
According to a 2011 Insurance Research Council (IRC) report, about 8 percent of Utah drivers were uninsured. That was well below the national average of 13.8 percent.
Uninsured motorist insurance is not required in Utah, but it can be a relatively affordable coverage that offers financial protection from the uninsured.
Promising stats on driving safety
Car insurance rates are determined, in part, by where you live. If you live in an area with a higher-than-average number of accidents and claims, your rate could be higher than if you lived in a rural area with a low number of incidents. The following statewide stats can help all Utah drivers save a bit more on car insurance.
In 2010, there were 8.5 driving-related deaths per 100,000 drivers. That's about 2 fewer than the average state.
Everyone in the carpool
Utah sported the 4th-highest carpool rate in the country (11.7 percent of all commuters) in 2009. Fewer cars on the road, generally speaking, translate into fewer car accidents.
Utah had the smallest drunk-driver fatality rate in the nation in 2009, when 16.4 percent of Utah's fatal accidents involved a motorist with an illegal BAC.
For some perspective, the next-closest state came in at 24.5 percent and the national average was 32.1 percent.
Driving info for Utah residents
Browse through key road laws, stats, and licensing procedures.
The Esurance Coverage Counselor®
You have options when it comes to your Utah car insurance policy. Our quick online counselor will recommend a policy that suits you in just a few minutes.
*Discount of 30 percent of renters premium deducted from auto premium automatically.