texas car insurance
Esurance offers car insurance to all Texas drivers. Here you'll find state-specific info on car insurance, from legally required coverages to money-saving discounts and more.
Texas car insurance
Drivers are required to carry bodily injury and property damage liability insurance with these minimum limits:
- $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $25,000 for property damage coverage per incident
Esurance in Texas
Esurance first brought its customer-friendly, technology-driven car insurance to the Lone Star State back in November of 2001. We've been going strong ever since.
Esurance car insurance discounts available in Texas
Esurance offers a ton of big discounts in Texas. Get your quote to see if you qualify for:
- Good Student discount
- Like to Save™ discount (for "liking" us on Facebook)
- DriveSense™ discount (our usage-based insurance program)
- Fast 5® discount (for starting your quote online)
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Safety Device discount
- Claim-Free discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Multi-Policy discount
Discounts are subject to eligibility. Current Esurance policyholders can call us at
1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) with questions about their discounts.
Optional car insurance coverages in Texas
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Medical payments coverage
- Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- Uninsured motorists property damage coverage
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Towing and labor coverage
If you're a current Esurance policyholder and have questions about your coverages, we have answers. Call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions may apply.
Car repair shops in Texas
Esurance customers who take their cars to repair shops in the E-star® network can track repairs online through RepairView® and get their repairs guaranteed for as long as they own the car.
Find a shop that features RepairView® near you.
More info on car insurance in Texas
Uninsured drivers in Texas
According to a recent report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC), 15 percent of Texas drivers drive without car insurance.
Consider adding some type of uninsured motorist coverage to your policy. That way you can financially protect yourself from paying out of pocket after an accident you didn't cause.
No proof of insurance
Those who are convicted of driving without car insurance may be fined $175 to $350 for a first offense.
Cancellation of policy
If you've had a policy for 60 days or more, your coverage can be canceled by your insurance company if you don't pay your premium, file a fraudulent claim, or get your license or registration suspended.
Texas car insurance rating factors
Most insurance companies (including us) typically use your age and driving experience, your driving record and claim history, your ZIP Code, your car's make and model, how frequently you drive, recent gaps in insurance coverage, and your credit-based insurance score to calculate your premium.
Alternative insurance options
If you're considered a high-risk driver because of serious traffic convictions like DWIs or for other reasons, you may have difficulty getting auto insurance from regular insurance companies. If 2 or more car insurance companies have refused to insure you, you may be able to get insurance through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA).
Texas driver information
Becoming a well-rounded Texas driver starts here. Catch up on the road rules and stats that matter most.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Spend a few minutes with our online counselor for a personalized, customized policy recommendation.
Texas Department of Insurance
The state's insurance authority can help you find more info on Texas insurance laws, insurance fraud, and other insurance-related topics.