texas driver information
Welcome to our page on Texas driving. Whether you're a lifelong resident or have just moved in, these stats, facts, and regulations can give you a better idea of driving in the Lone Star State.
Texas driving information
Number of licensed drivers: 15,374,000
Registered vehicles: 18,208,000
Licensing and registration authority: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
Driving record points in Texas
All Texas drivers have official driving records that track prior convictions. The state applies 2 or 3 points for traffic violations, 2 points for a moving violation, and 3 points when a moving violation leads to an accident.
Texas drivers may have their licenses suspended if convicted of:
- 4 moving traffic violations in 12 months, or
- 7 points in 24 months
DWIs in Texas
A first offense can lead to a fine of up to $2,000, between 3 and 180 days in jail, and a license suspension of up to one year, among other penalties. These penalties get exponentially tougher after each subsequent DWI conviction: a third offense can lead to a $10,000 fine and between 2 and 10 years in prison.
On top of that, there are annual surcharges that can be applied. First-time offenders pay a $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years and second-time offenders pay an additional $1,500 each year for 3 years.
Reporting accidents in Texas
As a general rule, call the police to the scene of any car accident. State law requires you to report an accident within 10 days if anybody was injured or if there was more than $1,000 in damage.
Seat belt violations
All Texas drivers are required to buckle up. It's a primary law in Texas, meaning you can be cited for a seat belt violation without committing any other traffic violation.
Most stolen cars in Texas
According to the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), the most stolen vehicles in Texas are:
- 2006 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2004 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Honda Civic
- 1996 Honda Accord
- 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe
- 2011 Toyota Camry
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 2005 Chevrolet Impala
- 1998 Ford Taurus
Comprehensive coverage offers financial protection in the event your car's stolen.
Registering your car and getting your Texas drivers license
If you're 16 or older and moving to Texas with a valid drivers license, you have 90 days before you need to get your new Texas license.
Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety site for more info on moving to Texas.
Drivers in the military
If you're a Texas resident who is active in the military, your expiring drivers license will remain valid for a deployment plus an additional 90 days after you've returned to Texas. If your license's expiration date has passed, head to the DMV to renew within 90 days of returning to the state to renew your license without penalty.
Vehicle registration and inspection
You're required to get your vehicle inspected and registered within 30 days of your move to Texas.
Young drivers in Texas
The graduated licensing program in Texas
- Required classroom instruction hours: 32
- Minimum permit age: 15 years
- Minimum holding period: 6 months
- Minimum phase one license age: 16 years
- Passenger restrictions: One passenger under 21 who is not a member of the driver's family
- Nighttime restrictions: midnight to 5 a.m. (unless supervised by a parent or guardian or for employment, school activity, or a medical emergency)
Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE)
Texas allows parents, grandparents, and legal guardians to act as a child's official, state-authorized driver-education provider so long as they meet certain conditions.
If you want to participate in the PTDE program, get more info through the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Texas car insurance
Find out what coverages you need and which discounts can help you save.
You can go to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information on licensing, vehicle registration, and Texas road rules.
Driver Training Division
The Driver Training Division is responsible for handling various Texas educational needs, including the state's approved driving courses.
Texas Department of Transportation
If a police officer wasn't at the scene of the accident, you can report it using forms available on this website.