rhode island car insurance
It doesn't take long to drive across Little Rhody, but that doesn't mean you don't need great coverage. Read on for more info about car insurance in the Ocean State.
Rhode Island car insurance requirements
Because of the state's proof of financial responsibility law, Rhode Island drivers are required to carry liability coverage with at least the following limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per incident
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per incident
These required insurance limits are often written as 25/50/25. If you prefer, you may be able to purchase your liability policy as a combined single limit of $75,000 per incident.
Rhode Island automatically includes uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage with the same limits as your liability bodily injury coverage (20/50). This coverage offers financial protection from at-fault drivers who lack sufficient liability coverage of their own. You can decline this coverage in writing (through your insurer) if you prefer to leave it off your policy.
Esurance in Rhode Island
Esurance is available to Rhode Island drivers. You can start your free quote and compare rates with real companies here.
Among other money-saving discounts, you could score the following when you buy a policy from Esurance:
- Switch & Save® discount
- Claims-Free discount
- DriveSense™ discount
- Anti-Theft discount
- Mature Driver discount
- Good Student discount
- Multi-Car discount
Discounts are subject to eligibility. If you're a current Esurance policyholder, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) if you have questions about your discounts.
Available Esurance coverages
In addition to the legally required coverages (liability, uninsured motorist liability), you can add these coverages to your Esurance policy:
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage
- Towing and labor
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Custom parts and equipment coverage
Factors that can impact your car insurance premium
While these depend on your insurer, each of these elements can play a part in determining your premium:
- Driving record of those on your policy
- Age, gender, and marital status
- Make and model of your car
- How you drive it (commuting through Providence, Sunday drives
through the countryside, etc.)
- Where your car lives
- Credit-based insurance score
- The coverages, limits, and deductibles you choose
- Discounts you qualify for
- Prior insurance history
Uninsured drivers in Rhode Island
The Insurance Research Council estimates that 18 percent of Rhode Island's drivers were uninsured back in '09. That was well above the national average of 13.8 percent, and it puts Rhode Island in the top 10 in terms of states with uninsured drivers.
Documents establishing proof of insurance
If you're ever pulled over by Rhode Island police, your insurance ID card can prove you carry the required amount of car insurance. Store it in your glove box, just in case.
State patterns that could impact insurance rates
A 2011 report from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, which used 2008 data, found that the average annual premium in Rhode Island was $1,138. That was more than $200 higher than the national average.
In addition to the state's uninsured driver population, here are 2 possible culprits behind the higher-than-average premiums.
Rhode Island is the second-most densely populated state in the country (not surprising, given it's also the smallest). There are 1,018 residents per square mile, which means a lot of drivers pack a relatively small area. More drivers can lead to more car accidents.
Lack of seat belt use
As of 2010, 78 percent of vehicle occupants wore seat belts in Rhode Island. This was nearly 7 points below the national average.
Wearing seat belts can, of course, protect you from injuries in an accident (and help you avoid those injury-related claims in the first place).
Rhode Island driver information
Breeze through info on licensing, registration, and traffic laws in the Ocean State.
Rhode Island's consumer guide to car insurance (PDF)
An official overview for car insurance shoppers.