pennsylvania driver information
Here you'll find interesting stats, useful info, and legal considerations for the knowledge-hungry Pennsylvania driver.
Pennsylvania (PA) driver information
Number of licensed drivers: 8,687,000
Registered vehicles: 9,857,000
Average commute for PA drivers: 25.4 minutes
Licensing and registration authority: Pennsylvania Department of Transportation – Driver and Vehicle Services
Points on your PA driving record
If you're convicted of a traffic violation, the state may add points to your driving record. Minor offenses can add between 2 and 3 points, while more serious offenses can add 4 to 5 points.
If you get 6 points on your driving record, your license could be suspended until you pass a written exam. If you have 11 points on your record, you face an automatic suspension of driving privileges (without the option to complete an exam).
Get a full rundown of the point system here in this PDF from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.
If the police don't come to the scene of an accident that caused injury or led to a car being towed, you're legally required to report it within 5 days.
Find more info on the PennDOT site.
Drivers in the military
Your expired drivers license remains valid during military service outside of the state and for an additional 45 days after your return home.
Pennsylvania has 3 levels of DUI penalties for drivers with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 or higher:
- General impairment: .08 to .099 percent BAC
- High BAC: .10 to .159 percent BAC
- Highest BAC: .16 percent (or controlled substance)
Penalties are more severe for drivers who have had multiple DUIs. For a full list of penalties, visit the PennDOT page on DUIs.
According to a recent National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) report, the most-stolen vehicles in Pennsylvania are:
- 1997 Honda Accord
- 2000 Honda Civic
- 2004 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2011 Toyota Camry
- 2000 Dodge Caravan
- 2011 Chevrolet Impala
- 1998 Ford Taurus
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee
- 1999 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
The "Steer Clear" law
When emergency personnel are working on the road, you're legally required to move into an adjacent lane if one is available. If one isn't, you're required to slow down. Violating the Steer Clear law can lead to a fine of up to $250 (or $500 in work zones).
Snowmobiles and ATVs
Registering all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and snowmobiles is handled through the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.
Moving to Pennsylvania
If you've recently moved to the state, you have 20 days to get your vehicle registered.
You'll have up to 60 days to apply for your new Pennsylvania drivers license.
Young drivers in Pennsylvania
First-time young driver requirements
- Minimum junior permit age: 16
- Minimum age for a junior's drivers license: 16.5
- Parent/guardian practice hours: 65 (10 hours at night, 5 in poor driving conditions)
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: 18
Getting your license
Your junior license will automatically convert to a regular drivers license once you turn 18. To get one before turning 18, you need to fill out a special application (DL-59) and meet the following requirements:
- Had a junior license for one year
- Passed a state-certified driver course
- Had no accidents over the past year
- Had no traffic convictions in the past year
- Have the consent of parents or legal guardian
Pennsylvania car insurance
Get the ins and outs of car insurance in the Keystone State.
Pennsylvania Driver and Vehicle Services
Get more info on traffic laws, vehicle titling and registration, and all things driver-related.
Pennsylvania Dept. of Transportation
Your hub for important updates on traffic or public transportation that could impact your daily commute.