oregon car insurance
Esurance is happy to offer car insurance in Oregon. On this page you'll find policy info for drivers in the Beaver State — from coverage types to Esurance perks as sweet as a Portland rose.
Mandatory car insurance coverages in Oregon
Liability insurance can help pay others' expenses after you're found at fault in a car accident. Oregon insurance laws require you to carry the following liability coverages and limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per incident
- $20,000 in property damage liability per incident
It's not uncommon to see these limits written as 25/50/20.
Personal injury protection (PIP)
Drivers in Oregon also need $15,000 of PIP coverage on their policies. This coverage can help pay medical-related expenses after an accident (including lost wages, if necessary) regardless of fault.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Like your bodily injury limits, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits need to be $25,000 per person/$50,000 per incident. If you're in an accident in which the at-fault driver has no insurance (or not enough coverage), this coverage can protect you and your passengers from medical bills.
Driving without car insurance can lead to fines and suspended driving privileges, among other penalties.
A recent report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 10 percent of Oregon drivers were uninsured.
The good news: this was below the national average of 13.8 percent. The bad news: 1 in 10 drivers don't have coverage.
To protect your finances from the uninsured, Oregon requires you to add uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage to your policy. You can also add uninsured motorist property damage coverage, which is optional, to help pay for repairs after an accident with an uninsured driver.
Factors that could impact your rate
In addition to the coverages, limits, and deductibles you choose when you customize your policy, the following can impact your car insurance premium in Oregon:
- Driving record
- Age and gender
- Claims history
- Credit-based insurance score
- Make and model of your car
- How you use your car (commuting, Sunday drives, etc.)
- Where you live
Esurance in Oregon
Esurance started offering car insurance to Oregon drivers back in '06.
Esurance discounts available to Oregon drivers
You could add extra savings to your Esurance policy with these discounts:
- Multi-Car discount
- Homeowners discount
- Good Student discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Fast 5® discount (save 5 percent by starting your quote online)
- Paid in Full discount
- Defensive Driver discount
Some exclusions may apply. If you already have an Esurance policy and have questions about your discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
Esurance Renters Plus™ discount in Oregon
Add renters coverage to your car insurance policy and you could qualify for our Renters Plus discount. It's an easy way to protect your valuables and your car on one policy and save.
Optional Esurance auto coverages in Oregon
You can add the following coverages to your policy for more comprehensive financial protection:
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- Rental car coverage
- Towing and labor
- Auto loan/lease coverage
- Custom parts and equipment coverage
Visit our online Coverage Counselor® for personalized Oregon policy suggestions.
Car repair shops in Oregon
Esurance customers can take their damaged cars to shops in our E-star® network to take advantage of RepairView® and guaranteed repairs (for as long as the car is theirs).
Find an E-star repair shop near you.
Oregon driver facts
Get a refresher on key laws and stats.
Oregon's official guide to car insurance (PDF)
Use this helpful guide to get a better understanding of your car insurance.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Our online counselor stands by to help tailor the perfect Oregon auto insurance policy for you.