oregon driver information
Welcome to our collection of laws, licensing info, and stats regarding Oregon drivers. Browse freely and use this page to get a better understanding of driving in the Beaver State.
Oregon driver information
Licensed drivers: 2,842,000
Registered vehicles: 3,046,000
Licensing and registration authority: Oregon DMV
Car accidents and violations in Oregon
Reporting car accidents
It's a good idea to call the police to the scene of any car accident, no matter how minor the damage initially appears.
Oregon law requires you to report any accident to the DMV if anyone was injured or there was more than $1,500 in damage to a car.
If a police officer doesn't come to the scene, file an accident report directly with a local Oregon DMV (PDF) within 72 hours of the incident.
Oregon's distracted driving laws
Texting and driving and talking on a handheld cell phone are both illegal in Oregon. They're primary violations, meaning you can be pulled over and cited for either one without committing any other offense.
Using a cell phone (even hands-free) is banned altogether for novice drivers.
DUII charges in Oregon
You can be charged with a DUII (driving under the influence of intoxicants) if your BAC is .08 percent or higher or you're under the influence of a banned substance.
First-time offenders face a suspended license and pay a minimum fine of $1,000 ($2,000 if the driver's BAC was .15 percent or higher). That's in addition to any other penalties levied by the court.
Driving in Oregon
If you're new to the Beaver State, here are a few things to keep in mind.
Moving to Oregon
You should trade in your old drivers license for an Oregon license once you become a resident of the state (even if your old license hasn't expired).
You have 30 days from the time you move to Oregon to register your car (and get a new title and license plate) through the DMV.
Car theft in Oregon
The 10 most stolen cars of 2011 include:
- 1992 Honda Accord
- 1998 Honda Civic
- 1989 Toyota Camry
- 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1998 Subaru Legacy
- 1995 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 1994 Acura Integra
- 1997 Toyota Corolla
- 2001 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 1992 Nissan Sentra
Comprehensive coverage, which is optional unless your loan or leasing agent requires it, can help pay to replace a stolen car.
A tremendous 97 percent of front-seat occupants used seatbelts in '09 (according to a National Highway Traffic Safety Administration report in 2011). That's 12 percentage points higher than the national average and just one point behind the highest percentage in the nation.
The student-driver process in Oregon
Oregon uses a graduated licensing program for new drivers. First, you'll need a learners permit, and once you qualify, you can get your provisional license.
Step 1 – requirements to get your learners permit
- Must be at least 15 years old and enrolled in school
- Pass a knowledge test
- Pass a vision test
Learners permit restrictions
- Must be accompanied by an adult 21 or older who has had a drivers license for at least 3 years
- Can't use a cell phone/smartphone while driving
Step 2 – requirements to get your provisional license
- Must be at least 16 years old
- Have had a learners permit for at least 6 months
- Complete 100 hours of supervised driving with a licensed adult 21 or older or complete 50 hours of supervised driving and a drivers ed course
- Pass a driving-skills test
Provisional license restrictions
- No driving with passengers under 20 (family members not included) for the first 6 months; no more than 3 passengers under 20 after 6 months
- No night driving (between midnight and 5 a.m.) unless commuting to work or school or accompanied by a licensed driver who's 25 or older
Getting your first Oregon drivers license if you're 18 or older
Once you hit 18, you're not required to get a learners permit of provisional license. You can earn a full license by passing a driving test, a knowledge test, and a vision screening.
Car insurance in Oregon
Make sure you meet legal coverage requirements and learn about possible perks in your state.
Oregon Department of Transportation
See where the construction's happening before you hit the road.
Oregon driving manual (PDF)
Find answers to your Oregon driving questions that we didn't answer here.