oklahoma car insurance
From key facts and legal requirements to hoedown-worthy discounts, our guide to Oklahoma car insurance can help you wrangle the most from your policy.
Oklahoma car insurance basics
Oklahoma requires its drivers to have liability coverage on their policies. Liability can help pay for another driver's medical and property damage expenses if you're at fault in an accident. Your liability limits need to be at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per incident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
You'll typically see these limits expressed as 25/50/25.
Esurance in Oklahoma
We first brought our car insurance to the Sooner State back in 2008.
Optional car insurance coverages for your Esurance policy
Some of the commonly added, though non-mandatory, policy options in Oklahoma include the following:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Medical payments coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Other optional coverages include loan/lease gap coverage, CarMatch Rental Coverage®, emergency roadside service, and customized parts and equipment coverage.
If you're an Esurance policyholder and have questions about your current coverages, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions may apply.
Esurance discounts offered in Oklahoma
The following car insurance discounts may be available when you get your Oklahoma car insurance quote:
- Multi-Car discount
- Claim-Free discount
- Homeowners discount
- Good Student discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Fast 5® discount (for starting your quote online)
- Defensive Driver discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
Discounts may vary. If you're already an Esurance policyholder, call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) if you have questions about your discounts.
The Renters Plus® discount in Oklahoma*
Add renters coverage to your Esurance car insurance policy in Oklahoma, and you can score our sweet Renters Plus discount. Win-win.
Repair shops in Oklahoma
If you're an Esurance customer and you get into an accident, you can take your car to one of the Esurance-approved E-star® repair shops in Oklahoma.
By doing so, you can take advantage of RepairView®, which lets you monitor your repairs in progress.
Find an E-star shop near you.
Uninsured drivers in Oklahoma
A recent report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 24 percent of Sooner drivers were uninsured in 2009, making this state one of the most uninsured in the nation.
Uninsured motorist coverage, which is optional, offers financial protection from the uninsured.
Proof of car insurance
Failure to show proof of car insurance can result in a fine of up to $250, suspension of your drivers license and vehicle tag, and up to 30 days in jail.
Oklahoma driver info
Stats, facts, laws, and licensing info for the Oklahoma driver.
Visit the Coverage Counselor®
State-required minimums often don't offer the protection you need after a crash. Our Coverage Counselor can customize a policy that fits you best.
Understanding your Oklahoma policy (PDF)
The Oklahoma Department of Insurance offers this guide to understanding your coverages.
*Discount of 30 percent of renters premium deducted from auto premium automatically.