oklahoma driver information
Whether you're a born Sooner or it's your first rodeo, we'll help you rope in all the important facts about driving in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma driving stats and info
Number of licensed drivers: 2,321,000
Registered vehicles: 3,396,000
Licensing and registration authority: Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
State traffic info: (888) 425-2385
Switching your drivers license
You'll need to replace your out-of-state license with an Oklahoma one once you establish residency in the state.
If your old license is still valid and you have 2 other official forms of ID, you may be able to avoid retaking a written or driving test.
Registering your car or truck
Once you have received an Oklahoma drivers license, your next step is to register your vehicle. You can do this by visiting one of the many local tag agencies, which are privately-owned businesses that specialize in titling and registering a variety of different vehicles on the state's behalf.
Drivers who don't need an Oklahoma license
You can also keep your original license as long as you have a valid license from your home state and qualify as one (or more) of the following:
- A nonresident at least 16 years old
- A nonresident enrolled at a university in the state of Oklahoma
- A nonresident on duty with the armed forces
Commonly posted speed limits in Oklahoma
While speed limits in OK vary, here's a general list of different driving areas along with their corresponding speed limits:
- Turnpike — 75 mph
- 4-lane highways — 70 mph
- Other highways — 65 mph (unless marked otherwise)
- County roads — 55 mph
- State park or wildlife refuge — 35 mph
- School zone — 25 mph
DUIs in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has strict penalties for drunk drivers. Case in point: anyone arrested for drunk driving can expect to pay an estimated $19,000 in fines, fees, and expenses.
Oklahoma's Erin Swezey Act requires certain drivers to install an ignition interlock device in their cars. An ignition interlock device is an instrument that prevents a car from starting when the driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.02 or higher.
After a first DUI conviction for driving with a BAC of .15 or higher, the interlock device is mandatory for 18 months. For a second offense, the interlock is required for 4 years. For subsequent offenses, the interlock remains for 5 years. "Interlock Required" will also appear on a drivers license for as long as the device is installed.
Young drivers in Oklahoma
Here are some notable facts and milestones for young drivers in Oklahoma. For specifics, visit the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.
Teens must comply with the following requirements before receiving their learners permit:
- Be at least 15 years and 6 months old
- Be enrolled in or finished with a drivers education program
- Pass a written test
- Pass a vision test
If you don't enroll in a drivers ed program, you need to be at least 16 to get your permit.
Intermediate drivers license
Student drivers in Oklahoma must comply with the following before receiving their intermediate license:
- Have a learners permit for at least 6 months
- Complete at least 50 hours (10 at night) of behind-the-wheel training under the guidance of a licensed driver who's at least 21
- Pass a driving test
Intermediate license restrictions
Teens on their intermediate license are prohibited from the following:
- Driving at night (unless there's a good reason, like school or work)
- Driving with more than one passenger (not counting family members)
Teen drivers can shed the above limitations and earn their unrestricted drivers license once they've had an intermediate license for at least 6 months or turn 18 and pass the driving and vision exams.
Teens and cell phones
Teens with a learners permit or an intermediate license may not use cell phones for talking or texting while they drive.
If you're convicted of any traffic violations while using your permit or intermediate license, you'll automatically remain at that driving level for at least another 6 months.
Oklahoma car insurance
Our fact sheet explains the legal requirements, possible discounts, and coverage options for driving in the Sooner State.
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Find DPS hours and service specifics to streamline your OK licensing experience.
Stay safe in a tornado (PDF)
Here's advice about what to do before, during, and after a tornado.