ohio car insurance
Hi there, Ohio drivers. Here you'll find basic info on Ohio's car insurance requirements. And a bit farther down the page, we go into our very own discounts, coverages, and perks.
Ohio car insurance
Ohio drivers are required to carry the following types of insurance:
- $12,500 bodily injury liability per person
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $7,500 for property damage liability per accident
Please note that these are the state-required minimums. You can opt for more insurance coverage when you buy your Ohio car insurance policy. As a general rule of thumb, you want as much coverage as you can comfortably afford.
Car insurance premiums
In 2010, Ohio ranked #11 out of the 50 states in terms of having the lowest car insurance premiums. This data comes from Ohio's Department of Insurance (and not Esurance's internal data).
How fault works after an accident
Ohio is a "fault" state, which means that one of the drivers in the accident may be found at fault and held liable as a result. Bodily injury liability and property damage liability are required coverages that can kick in after you're found at fault in a car accident.
Uninsured drivers in Ohio
It's illegal to drive in Ohio without proper car insurance or proof of financial responsibly.
Just because it's illegal, of course, doesn't mean drivers don't do it. A recent report from the Insurance Research Council estimates that 16 percent of Ohio drivers were uninsured.
Alternative car insurance options
If you don't want a typical car insurance policy but want to legally drive in Ohio, you can prove your financial responsibility by leaving $30,000 with the state treasurer. If you can't part with $30,000, you can have 2 people vouch for you by cosigning a bond with the state using their real estate as collateral. Together the cosigners must have $60,000 in equity. (Or you can just get car insurance.)
No proof of insurance
If you're an Ohio resident who's caught driving without proof of insurance, you'll need to go to court to show that you are insured. If you don't show proof, penalties include a suspended license (90 days for first-time offenders and up to a year for repeats) and the need to file an SR-22 form when you reinstate your license (for a fee).
Ohio car insurance rates
Several rating factors help us calculate the cost of your Ohio auto insurance policy, including:
- Your driving record
- Vehicle type
- Where you live
- Marital status
- Credit-based insurance score
- How you use your car
Esurance in Ohio
We started offering our technology-driven car insurance to Ohio drivers back in 2003.
Optional car insurance coverages from Esurance
You can add any of the following coverages to your Esurance policy:
- Medical payment coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury (UM/UIMBI) coverage
- Uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Auto loan/lease (aka "gap insurance") coverage
If you're an Esurance policyholder and have questions about your coverages, we have answers. Call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions may apply.
Esurance discounts offered in Ohio
When you buy a car insurance policy from Esurance, you may qualify for:
- Claim-Free discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Homeowners discount
- Fast 5® discount (you can save 5 percent by starting a
- Switch & Save® discount
- Good Student discount
- DriveSense™ discount
Discounts are subject to eligibility. If you have questions about your current Esurance discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
Ohio Renters Plus® discount*
You know you need to protect your car — so why not the rest of your stuff? Add renters coverage to your car insurance policy and get peace of mind in case the unexpected happens. You'll score a discount while you're at it.
Esurance-approved car repair shops in Ohio
As an Esurance customer, you can take your car to an E-star® shop and take advantage of RepairView® and guaranteed repairs for as long as the car's yours.
Find a repair shop near you.
Info for Ohio drivers
Find out about licensing and registration, driving record points, and more.
Ohio Department of Insurance
Your go-to source for fraud information and official state insurance info.
*Discount of 30 percent of renters premium deducted from auto premium automatically.