north dakota driver information
There's a lot to learn about driving in North Dakota, but don't worry — that's kind of our thing. Read on for relevant stats, facts, laws, and licensing info.
North Dakota driver information
Number of licensed drivers: 477,000
Registered vehicles: 722,000
Licensing and registration authority: NDDOT Licensing and Registration
Your North Dakota driving record
North Dakota tracks your driving record through a penalty point system. Most convictions for minor moving violations will add 1 or 2 points to your record, while dangerous violations will add more points. Reckless driving, for example, adds 8 points, while leaving the scene of an accident adds 18.
Once you've tallied 12 points, your license may be suspended. This suspension lasts 7 days per every point over 11.
Reducing points after a license suspension
After your license is reinstated, you'll have 11 points on your driving record. For each 3-month period you drive without incident, one point will be removed from your record.
You can also take a state-approved defensive driving course to remove 3 points from your record.
Taking a defensive driving course
The state may give you the option to attend a certified driving course instead of having points on your record. This option may be available if the moving violation would add 5 points or fewer to your driving record.
Penalties for DUI
Drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher face DUI (driving under the influence) charges.
Depending on the driver's BAC, a first conviction can be penalized by a fine of at least $250 and a license suspension of 91–180 days.
A second offense within 5 years may lead to a one-year suspension.
Implied consent law
By accepting your North Dakota drivers license, you're consenting to possible chemical tests when they're requested by a police officer.
Drivers who refuse to take a chemical test face an automatic license suspension for 1–4 years.
Reporting an accident in North Dakota
If you're involved in a crash that causes injuries or more than $1,000 in property damage, you're required to call the North Dakota police to the scene.
Distracted driving laws
Texting while driving is illegal for all drivers, and novice drivers are prohibited from any cell phone use while driving (except for emergency calls).
Both are primary laws, meaning you can be pulled over without first committing some other infraction (like speeding).
Getting your North Dakota drivers license
After living in the state for 90 consecutive days, you're considered a North Dakota resident.
You can then use your license from your original state for 60 more days before you need to switch to a North Dakota license.
In other words, you have 5 months from the time you move to North Dakota to get a new license.
Vehicle registration and inspection
Once you become a resident of North Dakota or start working there, you're required to register your car with the state's Department of Transportation.
Drivers in the military with expiring licenses
If you're stationed outside of North Dakota when your license expires, your license will remain valid for your term of deployment and for an additional 30 days after you return to the state.
Young driver requirements
Teens looking to hit the roads go through the graduated licensing program. Here's a quick overview of the key stages:
- Minimum permit age: 14 years old
- Tests required to get permit: vision and written exam
- Minimum holding period (age 14): 12 months
- Minimum holding period (age 15): 6 months or until turning 16
- Minimum holding period (age 16 and older): 6 months or until 18 (whichever comes first)
- Parent/guardian practice hours: 50 (if under 16)
- Minimum age for a minors driver license age: 15 years old
- Test required to get minors license: road test
- Age restrictions lifted: 16 years old
Stolen cars in North Dakota
According to a recent report by the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), in 2011, most of North Dakota's car thefts occurred in Fargo, which had 193 thefts.
The most stolen vehicles in North Dakota are:
- 2002 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2007 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2006 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 2012 Ford Explorer
- 1991 Pontiac Grand Prix
- 1999 Dodge Caravan
- 1979 Chevrolet Impala
- 2003 Chevrolet Malibu
- 1997 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
- 2006 Dodge Stratus
Comprehensive coverage offers financial protection in case your car's stolen.
North Dakota insurance information
Learn about getting insured in North Dakota.
NDDOT licensing and registration
Visit the official state website for license and registration info.