new hampshire car insurance
You might know that car insurance isn't mandatory in New Hampshire. But do you know which coverages are required if you do get insurance? You'll find this and other pertinent info here in our guide to New Hampshire car insurance.
Required coverage in New Hampshire
None. That's right — in line with its motto "Live Free or Die," New Hampshire doesn't require its drivers to purchase auto insurance. If you choose to drive without insurance, the state requires you to prove you have sufficient funds to pay for any damage or injury caused in an at-fault accident.
That said, the majority of New Hampshire drivers still buy car insurance. A recent report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 11 percent of New Hampshire's drivers were uninsured in 2009, which was below the national average of 13.8 percent.
Required coverages if you choose to buy car insurance
While auto insurance is optional in New Hampshire, if you do opt for a policy, there are 3 coverage types you'll need to have:
- Liability coverage. This helps cover others' medical and property damage costs after an accident if you were at fault. Your liability coverage needs to include the following limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per incident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per incident
These limits will often appear as 25/50/25.
- Medical payments coverage. This helps pay your injury costs regardless of who was at fault. If you buy car insurance, you'll need to carry at least $1,000 in medical payments coverage.
- Uninsured motorist coverage. If you're struck by an uninsured driver, this will help pay for medical expenses and property damage. It needs to carry the same 3 limits as liability: 25/50/25.
Esurance in New Hampshire
Even though currently Esurance isn't available in New Hampshire, we can still help you find a policy that fits your needs. That's just how we roll.
Start your free car insurance quote here and we'll help you compare policies from top companies side by side.
Determining fault after a car accident
New Hampshire uses the comparative negligence system. This means you can recoup injury and property damage expenses from other drivers as long as you were less than 50 percent responsible for the incident. And the amount you do end up recouping depends on how much (or little) you were found at fault.
How New Hampshire insurers may determine car insurance rates
Rating factors vary by insurer, but in general, the following factors can influence your premium:
- Driving record of all those on policy
- Age, gender, and marital status
- Other drivers on your policy
- Coverages, limits, and deductibles
- Discounts you qualify for
- Where you live
- Credit history
- Car type and its primary use (commuting, Sunday drives, etc.)
- Insurance history
Optional coverages that may be available in New Hampshire
In addition to liability coverage, medical payments coverage, and uninsured motorist coverage, you can typically add the following to your policy:
- Comprehensive coverage (may be required by a lease or finance
- Collision coverage (may be required by a lease or finance
- Rental car reimbursement coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
Depending on the provider, more coverages may be available. Check to see what your options are when you get your quote.
Insurance authority: New Hampshire Insurance Department
New Hampshire driver info
Stats, facts, laws, and licensing info for New Hampshire drivers.
Why rates vary
We'll take some of the confusion out of your car insurance premium.
New Hampshire's official guide to car insurance (PDF)
The official resource is chock-full of handy car insurance info for those in New Hampshire.