nevada car insurance
Hi there, Nevada drivers, and welcome to our guide on Nevada car insurance. You'll find easy-to-browse info on everything from legal requirements to optional coverages and money-saving discounts.
Nevada car insurance
All Nevada drivers are required to maintain:
- $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
These limits will often appear as 15/30/10.
Drivers are also required to have uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage on their policies, although they can be rejected in writing by the policyholder.
Esurance in Nevada
Esurance started offering car insurance to Nevada drivers back in '04.
Esurance discounts available in Nevada
Nevada drivers who are new to Esurance could qualify for these big discounts:
- Fast 5® discount (for starting your quote online)
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Safety Device discount
- Good Student discount
- Defensive Driver discount
- Claim-Free discount
Discounts are subject to availability. If you already have an Esurance policy and have questions about your discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
Optional car insurance coverages in Nevada
You can add any of the following coverages to your Esurance policy:
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Medical and funeral services coverage
- Towing and labor
Some exclusions may apply. If you're an Esurance policyholder and have questions about your coverages, we're here at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
Car repair shops in Nevada
Esurance customers can take their cars to shops in our E-star® network and take advantage of RepairView® plus guaranteed repairs for as long as the car is theirs.
Find an E-star repair shop near you.
How your premium is determined in Nevada
The following factors can impact what you pay for car insurance:
- Past driving record
- Where you live
- Gender and age
- Marital status
- Prior insurance coverage
- The make and model of your car
- Credit-based insurance score
- Discounts, coverages, and limits
Driving without car insurance
Drivers who fail to maintain car insurance or have repeated lapses in liability coverage may have their drivers licenses suspended. They may also have to pay a $250 fee for each car registered with the state.
Uninsured drivers in Nevada
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 13 percent of Nevada drivers were uninsured in 2009, which was on par with the national average.
Uninsured motorist coverage offers financial protection from the uninsured.
Car theft in Nevada
In 2011, the majority of cars thefts in Nevada occurred in the Las Vegas area: 8,627 to be exact. Las Vegas also had the 17th-highest theft rate in the nation.
The 10 most stolen cars in Nevada were:
- 1994 Honda Accord
- 1995 Honda Civic
- 1990 Toyota Camry
- 1994 Nissan Sentra
- 1999 Chevrolet Pickup (full-size)
- 1997 Nissan Altima
- 2003 Dodge Ram
- 1997 Ford F150 Series Pickup
- 1995 Acura Integra
- 1995 Saturn SL
This data was collected by the National Insurance Crime Bureau.
Comprehensive coverage, which is optional unless your loan or leasing agent requires it, can help pay to replace a stolen car.
Nevada driver facts
Your source for Nevada road laws, driving stats, and licensing info.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
We can help tailor a Nevada policy that makes sense for you.