nevada driver information
Welcome to our overview of Nevada's road rules and regulations. Breeze through laws, stats, and licensing info that will help you knowledgeably navigate the Silver State.
Nevada driving information
Number of licensed drivers: 1,690,000
Registered vehicles: 1,397,000
Licensing and registration authority: Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (as a bonus, they post average wait times in their offices online)
Accidents, violations, and your Nevada driving record
Nevada has a penalty point system that tracks risky drivers. Points for convictions range from 1-8, depending on the severity of the traffic violation — one point for driving 1-10 mph over the limit, and 8 points for reckless driving.
If you earn 12 points on your driving record within a one-year span, your license will be suspended for 6 months.
Drivers in the military
If you're an active member of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed outside of Nevada, you may be eligible to renew your license by mail or online. The same goes for your spouse.
Visit the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles website for more details.
Reporting accidents in Nevada
If you're involved in a car accident that involves any injuries or property damage of $750 or more, you need to report it to the Nevada DMV.
Calling the police to the scene is the smart way to go because you'll have a valid accident report just in case your car insurance company needs it. If the police are not involved, then all drivers must file an SR-1 form with the DMV on their own within 10 days of the accident.
Drivers with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher may be charged with a DUI. Convicted drivers lose your license for at least 90 days and the police may impound the vehicle.
A DUI will stay on your Nevada driving record for 7 years. You can find out more about how Nevada penalizes DUIs on the official DMV site (PDF).
It's illegal to use a handheld device or to text while driving in Nevada. The fine for a first conviction is $50, and it could double if the violation occurred in a work zone.
While the first offense doesn't count against your driving record, a subsequent conviction can add 4 points.
Find out why distracted driving is so dangerous in our safe-driving page.
Moving to Nevada
You have 30 days to get your new drivers license and vehicle registration once you move to Nevada. If you don't make the 30 day deadline, you may be fined up to $1,000.
Young drivers in Nevada
First-time driver requirements:
- Minimum age for an instruction permit: 15 years, 6 months old
- Must pass a vision and road knowledge test to qualify.
- Parent/guardian practice hours: 50 hours with 10 at night. If no driver education course is offered within 30 miles of residence, you need 100 practice hours to meet your drivers ed requirement.
- Nighttime restrictions: 10:00 p.m.–5:00 a.m.
- Passenger restrictions: must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 or older.
- Drivers under 18 cannot have passengers who are also under 18 for the first 6 months (excluding family members).
- You'll need to carry your instruction permit for at least 6 months before applying for a full drivers license.
- Curfew restrictions lifted: 18 years old
Getting a drivers license
If you're younger than 18, you can apply for your Nevada drivers license once you pass a certified drivers education course and have had your instruction permit for at least 6 months.
You can only get your license if you've had no at-fault car accidents, moving violations, or drug or alcohol convictions in the previous 6 months.
Car insurance in Nevada
Find out about Nevada car insurance, from legal requirements to optional coverages and more.
Nevada Drivers' Handbook (PDF)
Answer any lingering questions you have on Nevada's rules of the road.
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Get help with all your licensing and registration needs.