montana car insurance
Welcome to our fact sheet on Montana car insurance. We delve into liability insurance requirements, optional coverages, and possible discounts for drivers in Big Sky Country.
Montana car insurance
Montana drivers are legally required to carry liability insurance with at least the following limits:
- $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $10,000 of property damage coverage per accident
You'll often see these limits written as 25/50/10.
Esurance in Montana
We don't currently offer car insurance to Montana drivers. But that doesn't mean we can't help you find the right policy.
Start your car insurance quote here.
Buying car insurance in Montana
Montana has 2 laws that regulate car insurance premiums.
If you're a Montana resident who is 55 or older and you complete a Department of Transportation-approved traffic safety program, you automatically qualify for a premium reduction. This is a state law that applies to all car insurance companies.
Montana also regulates accident surcharges. If you're involved in an accident that wasn't your fault and you submit a claim for damages, your auto insurance company cannot add a surcharge or raise your premium. If you suspect that your premium increased because of a not-at-fault claim you made for damages, contact the Department of Insurance at 1-800-332-6148.
Factors that could influence what you pay for your policy
Rating factors vary by company, but in general, the following could affect your car insurance rate in Montana:
- Past driving claims
- Driving record
- Credit history
- ZIP Code
- Make and model of your car
- Vehicle usage
- Coverages, limits, and deductibles you choose
- Discounts you qualify for
- Age and gender
Optional car insurance coverages in Montana
With most insurance providers, you may be able to add the following coverages to your policy:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Rental reimbursement coverage
- Medical expense benefits coverage
- Additional liability coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Big car insurance discounts for Big Sky drivers
Depending on the insurer, the following discounts could be available to you:
- Anti-theft device discount
- Good student discount
- Safe driving discount
- Low mileage discount
- Drivers education course discount
Keep an eye out for these money-saving discounts when you're shopping for a policy.
Alternative car insurance options
Drivers who can't find a car insurance policy through the voluntary market may be eligible for the Montana Automobile Insurance Plan, which is administered by the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans. A licensed agent can apply on a driver's behalf.
Proof of insurance
Montana requires you to carry proof of liability insurance while you're driving. When you buy your policy, your insurer will send you an insurance ID card that you can store in your car's glove box.
If you're caught driving an uninsured vehicle, you could receive a fine of at least $250, a 5-point penalty on your driving record, and up to 10 days in jail. Subsequent offenses are penalized more harshly.
Uninsured drivers in Montana
According to a recent report by the Insurance Research Council, 11 percent of Montana drivers were uninsured. That was slightly below the national average of 13.8 percent.
When you buy your policy, your insurer is required to offer uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage can come in handy after an accident caused by an uninsured driver.
Montana driving information
Learn about Montana's licensing requirements, driving regulations, and more with our informative fact sheet.
Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance
The official website of the Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance.