missouri car insurance
Hello there, Missouri drivers. Welcome to our guide to car insurance in the Show Me State. You'll find info on everything from legal requirements to Esurance discounts and more.
Car insurance in Missouri
Here are the minimum coverages Missouri drivers are required to maintain on their policies:
- $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person/per accident
Esurance in Missouri
Good news: Esurance offers car insurance to Missouri drivers (and has since March of 2003). So if you want to go with a truly modern car insurance company — one with 24/7 customer service and cutting-edge mobile apps — start your quote here.
Esurance discounts offered in Missouri
Missouri drivers could save big when they buy a policy from Esurance. Check out the discounts we offer our new customers.
- Claim-Free discount
- Fast 5® discount (5 percent savings for starting a quote online)
- Good Student discount
- Homeowners discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Anti-Theft discount
- Safety Device discount
Discounts are subject to eligibilty. If you're a current Esurance customer and have questions about your discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
Our Missouri Renters Plus® discount*
Renters insurance can protect your valuables from fire or theft. And with our Renters Plus discount, you can save by adding renters coverage to your car insurance policy.
Optional car insurance coverages in Missouri
- Comprehensive (including glass replacement) coverage
- Collision coverage
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Emergency road service coverage
- Loan/lease (gap) coverage
- Medical payments coverage
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Do you already have an Esurance policy? Call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) if you have questions about your coverages. (Some exclusions apply.)
E-star® car repair shops in Missouri
Esurance customers who take their cars to shops in Esurance's E-star network can take advantage of RepairView® and guaranteed repairs.
Find a repair shop near you.
How your Missouri premium may be determined
The following can affect your car insurance rate in Missouri:
- Coverage selections
- The deductibles and limits you select
- Where the car is actually garaged
- Car make and model
- Your age and gender
- Your credit history
- Past driving and claims record
Uninsured drivers in Missouri
Fourteen percent of Missouri drivers were uninsured in 2009, according to a report from the Insurance Research Council. That's right around the national average of 13.8 percent.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is required to help protect you after an accident involving an uninsured driver.
No proof of insurance
Keep your proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. Failure to provide your auto insurance ID card to a police officer may result in a ticket.
Lacking coverage altogether will result in a suspended drivers license or license plate and a fine. Penalties increase for each subsequent conviction.
Driving in Missouri
Our state fact sheet gives you a refresher on Missouri driving laws, stats, and more.
The Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Spend a few minutes here for customized coverage recommendations.
*Discount of 30 percent of renters premium deducted from auto premium automatically.