missouri driver information
A key to safe driving is a good understanding of your driving environment. On this page you'll find notable stats and info that's relevant to the Missouri driver.
Missouri driving stats, facts, and laws
Number of licensed drivers: 4,218,000
Registered vehicles: 4,904,000
Licensing and registration authority: Missouri Department of Revenue
Missouri driving record points
Missouri uses a penalty point system to track driving violations. The state penalizes convicted drivers by adding points to their driving records. Points typically range from 2 to 12, depending on the severity of the violation.
Accumulating 8 points or more in 18 months results in a suspended drivers license.
Reporting accidents in Missouri
You need to report any car accident that involves an uninsured driver, an injury, or more than $500 in property damage.
Your best bet is to call the police to the scene so you can get an accident report. But if the police won't come to your accident scene because the accident's considered minor and no one was harmed, you can still file an accident report online (PDF).
The "Move It" law
If you're in a minor accident and you're not injured, state law requires you to move the car to the side of the road.
Common Missouri speed limits
Knowing some standard limits on various Missouri roads can help you avoid speeding violations, especially when you haven't seen a sign in awhile.
- Rural interstates and freeways: 70 mph
- Rural expressways: 65 mph
- Urban interstates, expressways, and freeways: 60 mph
- 2-lane lettered roads (aka state supplemental routes): 55 mph
Drivers can also be ticketed for driving too slowly if they're impeding the natural flow of traffic.
Drivers in the military
Missouri military personnel can renew their vehicle registrations via mail. See the Missouri Department of Revenue site for a list of the proper forms you'll need.
You also have the option to renew your license before you leave the state for duty so that it won't expire while you're deployed.
Spouses and dependents can also apply to renew their Missouri licenses by mail.
Moving to Missouri
New residents have 30 days to apply for a Missouri drivers license and get their cars registered.
According to data reported by the National Insurance Crime Bureau, the Kansas City area had the highest theft rate in Missouri in 2011.
The 10 most commonly stolen cars in Missouri were:
- 2006 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1992 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2005 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 1999 Dodge Caravan
- 1997 Ford Taurus
- 1999 Pontiac Grand Prix
- 1994 Honda Accord
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 2002 Dodge Intrepid
- 1991 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
Comprehensive coverage is optional unless a loan or leasing agent requires it, and it can offer financial protection in the event your car is stolen.
Graduated licensing in Missouri
First-time drivers who are under 18 go through the graduated licensing program in Missouri. Here are some notable milestones:
- Minimum age for an instruction permit: 15 years old
- Minimum time with an instruction permit before applying for an intermediate permit: 182 days
- Instructional driving time before applying for an intermediate permit: 40 hours (10 at night)
- Minimum age for an intermediate permit: 16 years old
- Passenger restrictions: first 6 months, no more than one passenger under 19 and not a member of immediate family; after 6 months, no more than 3 such passengers
- Minimum age to apply for a full drivers license: 18 years old
You can find more info on graduated licensing on the Missouri Department of Revenue's website.
Car insurance in Missouri
Find out which coverages are required and which ones are available.
The official Missouri state driver guide (PDF)
This comprehensive PDF can help answer any questions we didn't cover.