mississippi driver information
Welcome, Mississippi motorists. This Magnolia State driving page provides an overview of relevant stats, laws, and licensing info in your home state.
Mississippi driving information
Number of licensed drivers: 1,931,000
Registered vehicles: 2,026,000
Licensing and registration authority: Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Reviewing your Mississippi driving record
Your driving record tracks moving violations and at-fault accidents, and it's a key factor in determining how much you pay for car insurance. You can review yours, for a fee, through Mississippi's Department of Public Safety.
Drivers in the military
If you're a Mississippi resident and an active member of the U.S. military, you can renew your license by mail.
Find more info on renewing your license on the DPS site.
Moving to Mississippi
You have 60 days to get your new drivers license after moving to Mississippi and 30 days to register your car and get a new license plate. If your out-of-state license is valid, you may be exempt from the written exam and the driving skills test.
Distracted driving in Mississippi
Bus drivers and novice drivers are banned from texting while driving.
Seat belt law
Mississippi drivers and passengers are required to buckle up (children under 2 need to be in a carrier). Violating the seat belt law can lead to a fine of $25.
Speed limits in Mississippi
Unless marked otherwise, here are some common speed limits (both maximum and minimum):
- Rural interstate: 70 mph max, 40 mph min
- U.S. roads: 55 mph max, 30 mph min
- State roads: 55 mph max, no min
- School zones (in cities): 15 mph max, no min
Drivers convicted of DUIs are punished by a fine (between $250–$1,000), loss of driving privileges (up to one year) and jail time (up to 48 hours). Subsequent convictions are penalized more severely.
A report from the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) revealed that Jackson reported 2,159 car thefts in 2011. It had the 21st-highest theft rate in the nation.
The top 10 most commonly stolen cars in Mississippi included:
- 2006 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1997 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2005 Chevrolet Impala
- 2002 Honda Accord
- 2011 Toyota Camry
- 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 1994 GMC Pickup (full size)
- 2005 Nissan Altima
- 2002 Ford Taurus
Comprehensive coverage, which is optional unless your loan or leasing agent requires it, can help pay to replace a stolen car.
Young drivers in Mississippi
Graduated licensing program in Mississippi
- Minimum permit age: 14 years old (must be enrolled in an approved drivers ed course)
- Allows you to drive a drivers ed vehicle while enrolled in the class
- Minimum age for a regular learners permit: 15 years old
- This permit is valid for one year and can be renewed
- Minimum age for an intermediate license: 16 years old
- You'll need to hold a learners permit for at least one year before applying
- Requires a driving skills test
- Minimum age for a regular drivers license: 17 years old
- Must have held an intermediate license for 6 months before applying
Minors and underage drinking
Mississippi has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drivers and drinking. If you're under the age of 21 and are convicted of having a BAC above .02, you can be charged with a DUI.
Car insurance in Mississippi
We'll refresh you on coverage requirements in your state plus possible Esurance discounts designed to help you save.
Mississippi Department of Public Safety
Head here for info on licensing and registration.
Mississippi Department of Transportation
Check on new road construction and congested traffic before starting your commute or road trip.