maryland car insurance
Esurance offers car insurance to drivers in Maryland, with discounts good enough to coax a terrapin from its shell. We'll breeze through the key coverage and legal info for Maryland drivers.
Required car insurance coverages in Maryland
There are 3 types of coverage you'll need on your Maryland policy: liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist liability.
Liability insurance helps handle others' injury expenses and property damage if you're at fault in a car accident. Your liability coverages need to have the following limits:
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $60,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $15,000 in property damage per incident
These limits will often appear as 30/60/15, and you'll be able to select higher limits when you build and buy your policy.
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
Maryland requires its drivers to have at least $2,500 in PIP coverage, also known as no-fault insurance, to help cover accident-related medical expenses for you and your passengers. If you're in an accident, PIP can help you with the following expenses:
- Medical fees (nursing, prosthetics, surgery, etc.)
- Wage compensation (if you miss work because of an injury)
- Substitute services (if you need help with household tasks because of an injury)
- Funeral expenses
There are 2 different forms of PIP to choose between — full or limited. Limited PIP covers children (under 16) in your household and injured pedestrians, but it doesn't cover you, the policyholder, or family members 16 or older residing at home.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage can help pay for your medical bills after an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver. The minimum limits you can select are $30,000 per person, $60,000 per incident.
Uninsured motorist property damage liability coverage
Similar to the above, but this coverage can pay for damage to your car after an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver. The minimum limit is $15,000 per incident.
Uninsured drivers in Maryland
Uninsured drivers in Maryland can lose their license plates and may need to pay an uninsured motorist fee of at least $150 (in addition to other fines and charges).
Percentage of drivers without car insurance
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that 15 percent of Maryland drivers were uninsured in 2009. This was slightly higher than the national average of 13.8 percent.
Esurance in Maryland
We first offered car insurance to Maryland drivers in 2000.
Optional car insurance coverages
These Esurance coverages can boost the level of protection you enjoy from your Maryland policy:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Rental car coverage
- Custom parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
Esurance discounts for Maryland drivers
New Esurance customers in Maryland could save with the following discounts:
- Claim-Free discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Homeowners discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Fast 5® discount (for starting your quote online)
- Paid in Full discount
- Good Student discount
Discounts may vary. If you're already an Esurance customer and have any questions about your discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
E-star car repair shops in Maryland
Esurance customers can take their cars to Esurance-approved facilities to take advantage of RepairView® and guaranteed repairs for as long as they own their cars.
Find an E-star shop in your neck of the woods.
To get up-to-date car insurance info, you can visit the Maryland Insurance Administration. Or you can always contact us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) with your Maryland-specific insurance questions.
Maryland driver information
Get the scoop on road laws and stats that can impact driving in Maryland.
The Esurance Coverage Counselor®
We'll help you customize your Maryland car insurance policy.