maine car insurance
Driving through Maine brings its fair share of perils, which helps explain the state's high coverage requirements. Find out about these high minimums and a whole lot more here in this quick guide to car insurance in the Pine Tree State.
Maine's car insurance requirements
Maine drivers are required to have liability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage on their policies.
You'll need liability coverage with at least the following limits:
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $100,000 of bodily injury coverage per incident
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per incident
You may also be able to buy a combined single limit policy (which combines bodily injury and property damage liability) of $125,000 per incident.
Drivers in Maine are also required to carry:
- $50,000 of uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person
- $100,000 of uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per incident
- $2,000 of medical payments coverage
Buying car insurance in Maine
Esurance isn't currently available in Maine, but we can still help you shop for the right policy.
Start shopping for Maine car insurance here.
How insurers might calculate your premium
This varies by company, but in general, insurers use the following factors to determine your policy premium:
- Driving record
- Where you live
- Your coverages, limits, and deductibles
- Gender, age, and marital status
- Insurance history
- Make and model of your car
- How you drive (commute, pleasure, etc.)
- Credit-based insurance score
- Driving history of other drivers in your household
- Discounts you qualify for
Optional car insurance coverages in Maine
With most providers, you could add these coverages to your policy:
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Rental reimbursement coverage
- Towing and labor services
Depending on your provider, additional coverage options may be available.
Possible discounts for your Maine policy
When you shop for Maine car insurance, keep these possible discounts in mind:
- Multiple vehicles discount
- Good student discount
- Low mileage discount
- Anti-theft device discount
Maine also requires car insurance companies to offer discounts for drivers who are 55 or older who have completed a state-approved accident prevention course.
Documents that verify car insurance
There are 4 documents that can prove you're insured in case you're pulled over:
- An insurance ID card issued by your car insurance company
- Your actual insurance policy
- An insurance binder
- A letter from your insurance company or agent certifying your
Uninsured drivers in Maine
According to a recent report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC), Maine was tied with Massachusetts for the lowest rate of uninsured drivers in the nation at just 4.5 percent. But uninsured drivers still present a major risk to everyone on the road.
To protect yourself from uninsured drivers, Maine requires you to purchase uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. The best way to financially protect yourself from the uninsured is to buy the most coverage you can comfortably afford.
Maine's law on driving without insurance
If you drive in Maine without car insurance, you could be fined $100–$500. Your driving privileges may also be suspended.
Maine driver information
Find info on Maine's licensing, registration, and driving laws.
State of Maine's Bureau of Insurance
The state's insurance authority has a website with more Maine-specific information.