louisiana driver information
Whether you're searching for Louisiana road laws, licensing info, or state trivia to share with your Mardi Gras float-mates, you can satisfy your Louisiana driving curiosities right here.
Driving in the Bayou State
Licensed drivers in Louisiana: 2,902,513
Moving to Louisiana
If you're new to the state, you have 30 days to exchange your out-of-state drivers license and registration for Louisiana license and registration. You can do this at your nearest Office of Motor Vehicles.
As long as your out-of-state license is valid, you'll have to retake a vision test but not a written or skills exam.
Since your driving record is a major factor in determining your car insurance rate, avoiding needless traffic tickets is good way to help control your premium. Here are some common limits to keep in mind as you hit the open road in Louisiana.
|Rural portions of I-49
|All other rural interstates
|Multi-lane divided highways
If you see an emergency vehicle (such as police cars, ambulances, etc.) or a car with its emergency lights flashing stopped on the side of the road, you're required to move to the farthest lane and slow down to a safe speed. If you can't change lanes, slow to a safe speed as you pass.
Drunk driving in Louisiana
Each year, police officers make about 20,000 DWI arrests in Louisiana according to the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission. Despite their efforts, alcohol-related crashes still accounted for nearly half of all fatalities in 2009.
In Louisiana, drivers may be convicted of a DWI with a BAC of .08 percent. For those under 21, the legal limit is .02 percent.
Getting convicted of a first DWI can cost up to $4,500, a 90-day suspension of your drivers license, and up to 6 months in jail.
Distracted driving in Louisiana
All cell phone use is illegal for drivers under 18, and texting is banned for all drivers.
Growing up gulf: the student-driver process in Louisiana
Louisiana has 3 stages of graduated drivers licensing. Here's how it breaks down.
Stage 1: learners permit for 15- and 16-year-olds
To get a learners permit, here's what you'll need to do:
- Complete 30 hours of classroom study (from any course approved by the Dept. of Education or the Dept. of Public Safety & Corrections)
- Complete 8 hours of on-the-road training with a licensed instructor
- Pass a written and vision test
Learners permit restrictions
Having a learners permit allows you to drive as long as you are accompanied by one of the following:
- A parent or guardian who is 21 or older
- A sibling who is 18 or older
- A licensed drivers ed teacher
Stage 2: intermediate license
Those who meet the following requirements can enter stage 2:
- Must be at least 16 years old
- Have had a learners permit for at least 6 months
- Complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training (15 at night) with a licensed adult who's at least 21 years old
- Pass the road test
Intermediate license restrictions
Having an intermediate license allows you to drive on your own with the following restriction:
- No driving at night (between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.) unless accompanied by a licensed parent/guardian or a sibling who's at least 18 years old
Stage 3: unrestricted drivers license
The above limitations no longer apply once drivers turn 17.
Teens 17 and up
If you're already 17 when starting the licensing process, you'll have to:
- Complete a 38-hour drivers ed course or a 6-hour pre-licensing course
- Pass a written and vision test
And once you pass the on-the-road test, you're allowed to drive with zero restrictions whatsoever. Hurray!
Louisiana car insurance
Learn the coverage requirements of your state and see what trends could be affecting your rate.
Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
Get the skinny on official state services, office locations, and hours of operation.