kansas car insurance
We may be new(ish) to Kansas, but we're not new to car insurance. Find info on coverage requirements, decipher the complexities of no-fault coverage, and see how Esurance can help you save in our Kansas car insurance fact sheet.
Kansas car insurance basics
All car insurance policies in Kansas need to include 3 different coverage types.
- Liability insurance
This helps pay for others' car repairs or medical expenses after an at-fault car accident. Kansas requires drivers to carry:
These limits often appear as 25/50/10.
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per incident
- $10,000 in property damage coverage per incident
- Personal injury protection (PIP)
This goes toward a variety of your own medical fees after an incident, regardless of fault. You're required to maintain a policy with at least the following limits:
- $4,500 of medical coverage per person on your policy
- $900 for disability/loss of income per month
- $25 for at-home services per day
- $2,000 for funeral expenses
- $4,500 for rehab costs
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist protection (bodily injury only)
This can help pay for medical expenses if you and your passengers are hit by a driver who has a little or no coverage. The minimum limits you're allowed to carry are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per incident.
Esurance in Kansas
We brought our technology-driven, customer-focused car insurance to Kansas drivers in July of 2012.
Esurance discounts offered in Kansas
Get your quote to see if you qualify for any of our money-saving car insurance discounts:
- Fast 5® discount (for starting your quote online)
- Claim-Free discount
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Defensive Driver discount
- Good Student discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Credit Union Member discount
- Switch & Save® discount
These discounts are subject to availability. If you're a current Esurance policyholder with questions about your discounts, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
Esurance Renters Plus® discount*
Add renters coverage to your auto policy to protect your car and your stuff and save. When you get your car insurance quote, you'll have the option to add affordable renters coverage to your policy. If you're an existing customer, call us at 1-866-225-8677 to get coverage.
Optional auto coverages available from Esurance
- Medical payments coverage
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Custom parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease (gap) coverage
If you loan or lease your car, collision and comprehensive coverage may be required by your loan or leasing agent. And if you're an Esurance customer and have questions regarding your coverages, call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions may apply.
Building the policy that's right for you
Spend a few minutes with our online Coverage Counselor® for personalized policy recommendations.
How Kansas insurers determine your rates
Companies (Esurance included) often take the following factors into account when setting your premium:
- Driving frequency
- Driving record
- Prior insurance coverage
- Gender and age
- Make and model of your car
- Credit-based insurance score
Uninsured drivers in Kansas
Ten percent of Kansas drivers were uninsured according to a recent report from the Insurance Research Council. This was below the national average of 13.8 percent.
Settling injury claims after car accidents
Kansas follows no-fault guidelines when assessing bodily injury claims. That means that if you or a passenger is injured, you file a claim through your own insurer regardless of who caused the accident. Your policy's PIP coverage can help pay for medical expenses up to the limit you select.
When no-fault doesn't apply
Kansas drivers (or their families) are permitted to seek damages in court if their medical bills top $2,000 or if the injured party suffered permanent or severe injuries or died as a result of the accident.
Settling property damage claims after car accidents
Kansas uses a comparative fault system. If another driver causes damage to your vehicle or property, you can seek repair or replacement payments through that person's insurance company.
If your car costs $500 to repair and the other driver is deemed 80 percent at fault, you could collect $400 from the other driver's insurer.
Kansas driver information
Get the scoop about driving in the Sunflower State.
Kansas' official car insurance cheat sheet (PDF)
Fill this out before you start shopping to focus your coverage and pricing needs.
Kansas Insurance Department's official website
Get answers to coverage questions and stay current on insurance news in the state.
*Discount of 30 percent of renters premium deducted from auto premium automatically.