idaho driver information
No need to mine for information about driving in the Gem State. We gathered notable facts about licensing, registration, and driving statistics in Idaho. Go ahead and dig in.
Idaho driving stats
Number of licensed drivers: 1,055,000
Registered vehicles: 1,375,000
Average commuting time to work: 20.1 minutes (U.S. average is 25.2 minutes)
Licensing and registration authority: Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Driving record points, DUIs, and car accidents in Idaho
Idaho issues penalty points for driving violations. Points range from 1–4, depending on the violation. A tailgating conviction can add 3 points to a record, for example, while racing on a highway can add 4 points.
Acquiring 12-17 points in a one-year period could result in a 30-day license suspension. The length of the suspension increases to 90 days at 18 points, and then to 6 months at 24 points.
Removing points from your Idaho driving record
Every 3 years, you have the chance to erase 3 points from your driving record by completing a state-approved defensive driving class.
Call the Idaho Transportation Department for more info at (208) 334-8736.
DUIs in Idaho
Driving under the influence penalties vary by circumstance and whether the convicted driver is 21 or older.
First-time offenders who are 21 or older could face up to 6 months in jail, a 90-day license suspension, and a $1,000 fine.
Texting and driving is illegal for all Idaho drivers. And although it's technically legal to talk on a phone while driving, Idaho police officers maintain a "distraction in/on vehicle list" which notes whether a phone played a role in a car accident. That means a driver may be found at fault if the driver was texting or chatting while driving at the time of the accident.
Find out why distracted driving is so dangerous.
Reporting car accidents in Idaho
An accident that causes $1,500 in damage or an injury must be reported to the Idaho police.
Even if damage seems minor, it's always a good idea to call police to the scene of a crash.
Stolen cars in Idaho
According to the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), most Idaho car thefts in 2011 occurred in the Boise-Nampa areas — 437 to be exact.
Most commonly stolen vehicles in Idaho in 2011
- 2006 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1994 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 1998 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 1994 Honda Accord
- 1991 Toyota Camry
- 1994 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
- 1994 Ford Taurus
- 1986 GMC Pickup (full size)
- 1998 Dodge Caravan
- 1997 Ford Explorer
Moving to Idaho
Once you become an Idaho resident, you have 90 days to get your Idaho drivers license (even if your old license isn't expired).
Drivers in the military
If you're in the military and stationed outside of Idaho, you or your dependent can apply for an extension to renew your drivers license. As long as you're on active duty, the extension can last up to 4 years.
Young drivers in Idaho
- Minimum permit age: 14 1/2 years old
- Complete a drivers education course with a permit, with 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving with an instructor, and 6 hours of observation
- Permit holding period is 6 months
- Minimum intermediate license age: 15 years old
- Complete 50 hours of parent/guardian-supervised practice (10 at night) before applying
- Pass a written test and a skills test before applying
- No unsupervised driving at night if under 16 and no more than one passenger under 17 allowed (not including family if the driver
is under 17)
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: 18 years old
See the Idaho Driver's Manual for more info (PDF).
Idaho car insurance info
A helpful guide to car insurance in Idaho.
Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles
The Idaho Division of Motor Vehicle website has specific info on licensing and vehicle registration.