hawaii car insurance
Hawaiians know that the word aloha can mean many things, more than just "hello" and "goodbye." It's tricky to get it unless you already get it, right? Insurance is the same way, and since we already get it, we've put together this handy guide to help you understand the particulars of car insurance in Hawaii.
Hawaii's car insurance requirements
Hawaii drivers are required by the state's motor vehicle insurance law to maintain at least the following coverages and limits:
- $20,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $40,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 of property damage liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person
You can choose higher limits and add additional coverages, like comprehensive and collision or uninsured motorist coverage, when you customize your policy.
Esurance in Hawaii
While we don't currently offer car insurance to Hawaii drivers, we can help you find a policy that fits your needs. Start a free quote and compare policies side by side.
No-fault coverage in Hawaii
Hawaii is a modified no-fault insurance state. This means that regardless of fault, each driver's personal injury protection (PIP) coverage can kick in to help pay for the policyholder's (and passengers') medical expenses.
Depending on who's found at fault, you can still sue or be sued for medical expenses if the accident causes:
- Medical expenses exceeding $5,000
- Severe injuries or death
Hawaii's no-fault laws affect medical expenses and work-loss claims only, and they don't affect how property damage claims are handled. That means you can file a claim against an at-fault driver's insurer or sue for expenses associated with a damaged car or property.
Factors that could impact your Hawaii car insurance rate
The coverages, deductibles, and limits you choose will all impact your monthly premium. These factors typically influence your rate, as well:
- Your age and gender
- Your claims history
- The make and model of your car
- Where you live
- How you use your car (daily commutes, Sunday drives, etc.)
- Other drivers on your policy
Hawaii bans the use of credit scores
The state bans the use of credit scores in determining car insurance premiums.
Driving without car insurance
Hawaii strictly enforces its car insurance requirements. Uninsured drivers face fines of up to $5,000, possible jail time, and loss of driving privileges (including license and registration).
Keep proof of insurance coverage (in the form of your insurance ID card) in your car's glovebox at all times.
Uninsured drivers in Hawaii
A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC) estimated that 11 percent of Hawaii drivers were uninsured. While that's below the national average of 13.8 percent, it means that more than 1 in 10 drivers may not have legally required coverages.
You can add uninsured motorist coverage to your policy to protect yourself, financially, from uninsured drivers.
Hawaii driver info
Stats, facts, laws, and notable tidbits for Hawaiian drivers.
Rental car coverage for visitors
Find out more about additional rental coverage and why you may not need it.
Hawaii's Insurance Commissioner
Find official state info on the commissioner's website.