georgia driver information
You probably know that Georgia's known for its peaches. But did you know it's illegal to text while driving in the Peach State? Read on for more stats, laws, and regulations.
Georgia driver information
Number of licensed drivers: 6,315,000
Registered vehicles: 8,507,000
Licensing and registration authorities: Georgia Motor Vehicle Division and the Georgia Department of Driver Services
The point system and your Georgia driving record
Georgia tracks its drivers through a penalty point system. Drivers who are convicted of traffic violations may be penalized between 1 and 6 points, depending on the severity of the violation. Getting 15 points within 24 months can result in a suspended license.
Distracted driving laws
Georgia has a ban on texting for all drivers and prohibits cell phone use — both handheld and hands-free — for bus drivers and teenage drivers with provisional licenses.
Reporting accidents in Georgia
You're legally required to notify the police if you're in a car accident resulting in injury or property damage over $500. But we recommend calling the police to the scene of any accident, no matter how small the damage initially appears.
Drivers in the military
If you're a Georgia resident on active military duty, you can renew your license by mail. This offer also extends to your spouse and dependents. Additionally, military personnel have a 6-month grace period to renew a drivers license after returning home.
Moving to Georgia
You have 30 days to get your new Georgia drivers license after you move.
Stolen cars in Georgia
Atlanta has the majority of car thefts. In 2011, 19,405 vehicles were stolen from the Atlanta metro area, which also includes Sandy Springs and Marietta. The Augusta area was a distant second with 1,834 thefts in 2011.
In 2011, the top 10 most commonly stolen cars in Georgia included:
- 1996 Honda Accord
- 1995 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Dodge Caravan
- 2000 Honda Civic
- 2004 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 2011 Toyota Camry
- 2004 Chevrolet Impala
- 1999 Ford Taurus
- 1996 Ford Explorer
Young drivers in Georgia
Graduated drivers license requirements
- Required classroom instruction hours: 30
- Required driving hours: 6
- Minimum permit age: 15
- Minimum holding period: 12 months
- Minimum intermediate license age: 16
- Parent/guardian practice hours: 40 hours (6 at night)
- Nighttime restrictions: midnight–6 a.m.
- Passenger restrictions: No passengers other than family for the first 6 months; no more than one non-family member under the age of 21 for the second 6 months.
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: 18
Getting a license
Drivers between 16 and 18 can apply for an intermediate Georgia drivers license after holding an instructional permit for at least 12 months and passing a driving test. Once you turn 18, you can apply for your full license.
Guide to car insurance in Georgia
Do you have the legal amounts of coverage in your state? Find out right here.
Your official state resource for license and registration questions.
Georgia Department of Transportation
Get road construction and traffic updates before you head out the door.