florida car insurance
Though Florida may be known for sunny weather, its no-fault car insurance laws can make things a little hazy for drivers. We'll help clarify your Florida coverage requirements and explain a little about Esurance in Florida.
Florida car insurance
Florida state insurance requirements
Florida drivers are required to have these coverages and minimum limits:
- $10,000/$20,000 bodily injury protection per person/per incident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage
- $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person
How fault works after an accident
Florida is a no-fault state, which limits your right to sue an at-fault driver after an accident. No-fault coverage (sometimes referred to as personal injury protection) applies to medical expenses after an accident (and not to damaged property).
What PIP can pay for
If you're injured in a car accident, PIP can help pay up to 80 percent of medically necessary expenses and up to 60 percent of work loss up to the limit you select. If you're unable to perform regular household tasks, PIP can also help pay for things like cooking and cleaning.
When drivers can sue for medical expenses
In spite of the no-fault moniker, drivers can still sue an at-fault driver for medical expenses after serious accidents in Florida. Lawsuits can be filed if the accident resulted in permanent or fatal injuries or disfigurement. Bodily injury liability coverage can financially protect at-fault drivers if a lawsuit is filed.
Uninsured drivers in Florida
In a 2011 report, the Insurance Research Council estimated that a whopping 24 percent of Florida drivers were uninsured. That was the 5th-highest percentage in the U.S.
Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional policy addition that offers financial protection from the uninsured.
How car insurance rates are determined in Florida
These factors may play a part in what you pay for your car insurance policy:
- Driving record
- Coverage selections, limits, and deductibles
- The make and model of your car
- Age and gender
- Credit-based insurance score
- Your ZIP Code
Esurance in Florida
We brought our car insurance to the Sunshine State in 2002.
Esurance discounts offered in Florida
Here are some of the discounts that Florida drivers could qualify for when they buy an Esurance policy:
- Claim-Free discount
- Anti-Lock Brakes discount
- Anti-Theft discount
- Fast 5® discount (for starting a quote online)
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Paid-in-Full discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Defensive Driver discount
- Good Student discount
- Safety Device discount
- Multi-Policy discount
Already have an Esurance policy? Call us at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) if you have questions about your discounts (some exclusions may apply).
Optional car insurance coverages in Florida
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Rental car coverage
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Medical payments coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Esurance-approved repair shops in Florida
Esurance customers can take their cars to body shops in our E-star® network for guaranteed repairs (for as long as they own their cars). Esurance-affiliated shops also feature RepairView™, which lets you monitor your repairs online.
Find a body shop near you.
Florida driving information
Find out about licensing, registration, and more.
Get a customized policy recommendation in just a few minutes.